bash.exe memory problem?

Try looking for help here if you are having problems with the latest beta of Ultimate Boot CD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

Post Reply
Message
Author
kcarney
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am

bash.exe memory problem?

#1 Post by kcarney » Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:11 am

Hello,

I have an EXE created with Bat to EXE Converter 1.5 http://download.cnet.com/Bat-To-Exe-Con ... 55897.html which launches a few batch scripts and menus. All works fine, except anything having to do with UBCD scripts (uncd2iso also). See below.

Code: Select all

C:\UB\UBCD\files\ubcd\tools\win32\antivirus>call avira.cmd
C:\UB\UBCD\files\ubcd\tools\win32\unxutils\bin\bash.exe: *** Couldn't reserve sp
ace for cygwin's heap, Win32 error 0
Terminate batch job (Y/N)?

kcarney
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am

Re: bash.exe memory problem?

#2 Post by kcarney » Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:19 am

Here's a more detailed grab

Code: Select all

Updating Avira definitions...
      0 [main] us 0 init_cheap: VirtualAlloc pointer is null, Win32 error 487
AllocationBase 0x0, BaseAddress 0x71110000, RegionSize 0x450000, State 0x10000
C:\UB\UBCD\files\ubcd\tools\win32\unxutils\bin\bash.exe: *** Couldn't reserve sp
ace for cygwin's heap, Win32 error 0

StopSpazzing
Posts: 462
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: bash.exe memory problem?

#3 Post by StopSpazzing » Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:57 pm

If you read the reviews on the program you are using, people say it sometimes works for something and doesn't for others. It's the programs problem not "bash.exe".
~Just StopSpazzing~

Visit the UBCD Wiki: http://wiki.ultimatebootcd.com
Please check your UBCD ISO MD5 Hash Sum; May prevent issues later on by not having an exact copy.

Currently Working on Common Issues and Repair Tips on the Wiki.

kcarney
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am

Re: bash.exe memory problem?

#4 Post by kcarney » Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:44 pm

I really doubt it is, since the exe only does a cd and then start "batchfile.bat". I've used a few other programs with the same result.

Icecube
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: bash.exe memory problem?

#5 Post by Icecube » Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:34 am

I just tried Bat to EXE Converter 1.5 on the avira.cmd script.
When I checked "Add decompiler" the generated avira.exe didn't have any heap problems with bash.

i don't know if it fully works. It downloaded the file with wget and so, but some of the other commands didn't get executed like they should (wrong path names).
I tested the converter and the avira.exe in wine on Linux.
Linux ==> WINE (Windows compatibility layer for Linux/...) ==> avira.exe (compiled batch script) which probably will run cmd.exe of WINE for executing the batch file ==> running bash (cygwin binary: Linux API emulation layer providing substantial Linux API functionality)
I think the WINE ==> bash step doesn't work (when tried alone), and messes the pathnames up.
Download Ultimate Boot CD v5.0: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download.html
Use Parted Magic for handling all partitioning task: http://partedmagic.com/

kcarney
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am

Re: bash.exe memory problem?

#6 Post by kcarney » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:56 pm

Make sure "current path" is selected in Bat to Exe Converter, otherwise it uses %temp%

Post Reply