It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: UBCD & BartPE on one CD
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 5:26 am
Posts: 1
Hi!

Has someone figured out a way to put BartPE on one CD with UBCD 5?

I use following syntax in custom.cfg:
Code:
LABEL bartpe
      MENU LABEL BartPE V3.1.10a
      KERNEL /pro1.bin
      APPEND
where pro1.bin is a boot sector from windows XP CD.

If I use default batch ubcd2iso.bat BartPE wont boot (it displays "Couldn't find NTLDR" error message).
I've found through trial and error that changing mkisofs parameter -iso-level to 3 and adding -N switch I can make BartPE boot, but some of other tools stop booting with message like this:
Quote:
Loading /boot/syslinux/memdisk..
could not find ramdisk image /ubcd/images/offntpassw.iso.gz

Any suggestions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UBCD & BartPE on one CD
PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 462
Location: California, USA
killgore wrote:
Hi!

Has someone figured out a way to put BartPE on one CD with UBCD 5?

I use following syntax in custom.cfg:
Code:
LABEL bartpe
      MENU LABEL BartPE V3.1.10a
      KERNEL /pro1.bin
      APPEND
where pro1.bin is a boot sector from windows XP CD.

If I use default batch ubcd2iso.bat BartPE wont boot (it displays "Couldn't find NTLDR" error message).
I've found through trial and error that changing mkisofs parameter -iso-level to 3 and adding -N switch I can make BartPE boot, but some of other tools stop booting with message like this:
Quote:
Loading /boot/syslinux/memdisk..
could not find ramdisk image /ubcd/images/offntpassw.iso.gz

Any suggestions?



I currently boot and run both BartPE and UBCD 5.0.3 from USB. A huge pain at first. From my research you have to add UBCD to BartPE, not the other way around, as it causes more issues and has yet to work for anyone.

If you use UBCD4win (if you dont already have it), then add the UBCD plugin. After extracting UBCD into the plugin "files" folder, enable the plugin and build. Should work from ISO, tho I have not played around with the ISO seeing as USB is faster and easier to edit. I use grub4dos to get it to work on USB fyi. Let me know if you have any more questions.

_________________
~Just StopSpazzing~

Visit the UBCD Wiki: http://wiki.ultimatebootcd.com
Please check your UBCD ISO MD5 Hash Sum; May prevent issues later on by not having an exact copy.

Currently Working on Common Issues and Repair Tips on the Wiki.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UBCD & BartPE on one CD
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:43 pm
Posts: 1
I currently have a thumb drive that I when I boot it, it loads ubcd. However, once in the program, I'm able to use grub4dos and start BartPE. Is that what you are asking on how to do?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UBCD & BartPE on one CD
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 462
Location: California, USA
I actually used grub4dos to boot both, but if it works for you then works for you.

_________________
~Just StopSpazzing~

Visit the UBCD Wiki: http://wiki.ultimatebootcd.com
Please check your UBCD ISO MD5 Hash Sum; May prevent issues later on by not having an exact copy.

Currently Working on Common Issues and Repair Tips on the Wiki.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group