Problem with 600GB VelociRaptor.

Try looking for help here if you are having problems with the latest beta of Ultimate Boot CD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

Post Reply
Message
Author
IsLNdbOi
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:07 am

Problem with 600GB VelociRaptor.

#1 Post by IsLNdbOi » Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:36 pm

I just received a new 600GB VelociRaptor. Trying to wipe it, but keep getting errors. I'm using UBCD 5.0.2. Tried wiping it with DBAN first, but it immediately terminates with a non-fatal error.

When I try Killdisk I get this:

(AHCI and native IDE mode for SATA enabled in BIOS):
Image

Killdisk's main screen quickly scrolls up to be replaced by what's in the image.



When I disable AHCI and change SATA to legacy IDE mode it does the same thing except the errors come more slowly:
Image

I had my original 600GB VelociRaptor replaced because the exact same thing was happening with that one. Anyone have any idea what's going on here?
-
-
-
-
-
-
-

Icecube
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with 600GB VelociRaptor.

#2 Post by Icecube » Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:07 pm

Do you get that error directly, when you launch killdisk or only after some minutes?
Download Ultimate Boot CD v5.0: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download.html
Use Parted Magic for handling all partitioning task: http://partedmagic.com/

ady
Posts: 828
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 5:26 am

Re: Problem with 600GB VelociRaptor.

#3 Post by ady » Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:29 pm

Although I can't see those jpg with the errors, here are some links that may be useful:

WDC Velociraptor specifications:
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=20#tab3

WD6000BLHX 2.5" standard needs/uses cooling 3.5 adapter
WD6000HLHX 3.5" standard

Specifically for your SATA 6Gb/s Velociraptor:

Newest Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for DOS (floppy version, you need to customize UBCD503):
http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... =2&lang=en
Newest Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows:
http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... =3&lang=en

The Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for DOS in CD version is old for your SATA 6Gb/s HDD.

Velociraptor's KnowledgeBase:
http://support.wdc.com/product/kb.asp?w ... lociRaptor
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
ID #3865: How to partition and format a WD drive on Windows (7, Vista, XP) and Mac OSX
ID #1708: Where to find a driver for a WD product or the operating system (OS) fails to recognize a WD drive
ID #1018: How to initialize or write a signature to a secondary hard drive or Solid State drive in Windows (7, Vista, XP, 2000)
ID #1211: How to low level format or write zeros (full erase) to a WD hard drive or Solid State drive
ID #1337: Problems encountered installing SATA 3.0 Gb/s hard drives on SATA 1.5 Gb/s controllers
ID #940: How to test a drive for problems using Data Lifeguard Diagnostics for Windows
ID #3875: How to disable power management settings in Windows 7, Vista, and XP
ID #2754: Hard drives greater than 2 TB do not work on existing operating systems
ID #1198: How to move or copy files from one hard drive to another in Windows
ID #1021: How to change the format type (file system) of a hard drive or Solid State drive in Windows (7, Vista, XP, 2000)
More Answers ...
WDC forum:
http://community.wdc.com/

I don't know if DBAN and KillDisk are compatible with SATA 6Gb/s.
I don't know if Legacy IDE mode is compatible with SATA 6Gb/s.
Have you checked the jumpers for SATA 6Gb/s / 3Gb/s in the HDD ? (As mentioned, I can't see the posted errors, so...)

After running the appropriate WDC Diagnostic tool, IF the result is fine, you may use HDErase for "zero-filling", or the method described in the relevant WDC faq.

IsLNdbOi
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:07 am

Re: Problem with 600GB VelociRaptor.

#4 Post by IsLNdbOi » Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:59 pm

Icecube wrote:Do you get that error directly, when you launch killdisk or only after some minutes?
It happens as soon as Killdisk is launched.

ady wrote:Although I can't see those jpg with the errors, here are some links that may be useful:

WDC Velociraptor specifications:
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=20#tab3

WD6000BLHX 2.5" standard needs/uses cooling 3.5 adapter
WD6000HLHX 3.5" standard

Specifically for your SATA 6Gb/s Velociraptor:

Newest Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for DOS (floppy version, you need to customize UBCD503):
http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... =2&lang=en
Newest Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows:
http://support.wdc.com/product/download ... =3&lang=en

The Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for DOS in CD version is old for your SATA 6Gb/s HDD.

Velociraptor's KnowledgeBase:
http://support.wdc.com/product/kb.asp?w ... lociRaptor
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
ID #3865: How to partition and format a WD drive on Windows (7, Vista, XP) and Mac OSX
ID #1708: Where to find a driver for a WD product or the operating system (OS) fails to recognize a WD drive
ID #1018: How to initialize or write a signature to a secondary hard drive or Solid State drive in Windows (7, Vista, XP, 2000)
ID #1211: How to low level format or write zeros (full erase) to a WD hard drive or Solid State drive
ID #1337: Problems encountered installing SATA 3.0 Gb/s hard drives on SATA 1.5 Gb/s controllers
ID #940: How to test a drive for problems using Data Lifeguard Diagnostics for Windows
ID #3875: How to disable power management settings in Windows 7, Vista, and XP
ID #2754: Hard drives greater than 2 TB do not work on existing operating systems
ID #1198: How to move or copy files from one hard drive to another in Windows
ID #1021: How to change the format type (file system) of a hard drive or Solid State drive in Windows (7, Vista, XP, 2000)
More Answers ...
WDC forum:
http://community.wdc.com/

I don't know if DBAN and KillDisk are compatible with SATA 6Gb/s.
I don't know if Legacy IDE mode is compatible with SATA 6Gb/s.
Have you checked the jumpers for SATA 6Gb/s / 3Gb/s in the HDD ? (As mentioned, I can't see the posted errors, so...)

After running the appropriate WDC Diagnostic tool, IF the result is fine, you may use HDErase for "zero-filling", or the method described in the relevant WDC faq.
I checked the pins for the jumpers, but there's no jumper there. None of my previous VelociRaptors had jumpers either on those pins, but they worked just fine.

I have already tried HDDErase, but it gave an error too.

ady
Posts: 828
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 5:26 am

Re: Problem with 600GB VelociRaptor.

#5 Post by ady » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:28 pm

IsLNdbOi wrote:I checked the pins for the jumpers, but there's no jumper there. None of my previous VelociRaptors had jumpers either on those pins, but they worked just fine.
Yes, in general the new HDD are coming with no jumpers, but the pins' goal is, among others characteristics, changing compatibility between SATA 6Gb/s (default) to SATA 3Gb/s. This depends on your motherboard's compatibility.

I only mentioned this issue because I don't see the error messages you "posted", so I can't really know what's going on (or if this issue is related).
IsLNdbOi wrote:I have already tried HDDErase, but it gave an error too.
Since no "wipe method" is working, but I can't see the error messages you "posted", I can only repeat my previous suggestion: customize UBCD503 with the latest WDC DLG Diagnostic tool for DOS (floppy), and run a test. Write down the results (error message codes) and use that info to post at the WDC forum (or here).

IsLNdbOi
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 3:07 am

Re: Problem with 600GB VelociRaptor.

#6 Post by IsLNdbOi » Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:57 am

It was the SATA-III port. There's nothing wrong with the port since it works with my other drives. The 600GB VelociRaptor just doesn't want to work on either of those SATA-III ports. I moved it to a SATA-II port and it's working fine now.

Post Reply