Page 1 of 1

How to add "reboot" command

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:59 am
by Solaris17
hey guys. Iv implimented a windows 98 boot disk to my CD and a couple of other programs iv gotten to work by injecting them into the 98 image...but now id like to add something a simple command you see when i want to exit something i hit ESC and it brings me back to the prompt but i was wondering if i can make my own command (edit the .bat or w/e) to make the sytem reboot by typing reboot at the prompt etc anyone know how to do this?

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:06 am
by Constance
You can use FreeDOS' fdapm to do that.

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:17 pm
by Solaris17
thnx ill give it a try :)

Posted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 1:02 pm
by Solaris17
i have iot but they are .asm files after i unzip fdapm is their a way to impliment 1 or 2 core files to each image i have in the custom directory so that when you exit you can simply type reboot?

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:48 am
by Icecube
Download fdapm from http://www.coli.uni-saarland.de/~eric/stuff/soft/
The .com file is in the bin directory.

Use the following in you batch file.

Code: Select all

fdapm WARMboot
or (Choose one of those commands)
fdapm COLDboot
WARMboot - perform a classical warm reboot (skips BIOS tests)
COLDboot - perform a (quite) cold boot (with BIOS tests)

For the other possibilities see:
http://help.fdos.org/en/hhstndrd/fdapm.htm

You can also make a reboot.bat file with this content. Then you can reboot you pc by calling reboot.bat in your scripts or from the command prompt.
Use the following in your scripts.

Code: Select all

CALL reboot.bat
or (Choose one of those commands)
CALL reboot         (this will work also, I think)
At the command prompt, just type "reboot".

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:17 am
by Solaris17
hey thnx man :)