Linux & UBCD multibootcd using isolinux

Try looking for help here if you are having problems with the Ultimate Boot CD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

Locked
Message
Author
wernes
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 12:36 am

Linux & UBCD multibootcd using isolinux

#1 Post by wernes » Wed May 07, 2008 5:58 am

Hello all,this is my first thread here trying to find the answer to this problem:I want to make a multiboot cd which contains ubcd among a linux distro and other utilities.The thing is that i use isolinux route ,and made a folder called "multiboot" containing the subfolders "boot","ubcd","miniubuntu",etc.My question is :what commands/entries do i have to write in isolinux.cfg from "boot" folder to make ubcd work,because right now it is not.This is a part from my isolinux.cfg,regarding ubcd:

Code: Select all

LABEL ubcd
MENU LABEL ^2  UBCD 4.1.1
KERNEL /ubcd/isolinux/menu.c32
APPEND /ubcd/isolinux/isolinux.cfg
What could be the right syntax to make ubcd to work ?When i choose from the cd menu the ubcd option,i get a second screen with 2 options:boot and main.if i choose main nothing's happening only a refresh of the virtual screen,and if i choose boot ,a message saying "Booting..." appear at the bottom of the virtual screen and freeze right there.Thanks in advance to all that will help me.

Icecube
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Contact:

#2 Post by Icecube » Wed May 07, 2008 7:48 am

You need a newer version of isolinux than that which is included in UBCD for the CONIFIG command.

Code: Select all

LABEL ubcd
    MENU LABEL ^2  UBCD 4.1.1
    CONFIG /sysresc/isolinux/isolinux.cfg
See http://syslinux.zytor.com/ for more information on isolinux.

But most of the programs of ubcd won't work if you place them in a subfolder ubcd. You have to update all the cfg files in the menus folder of ubcd, but all the dosapps won't work.

The next version of ubcd will have most of its folders inside a folder called ubcd so then you can do what you want to do now.

See the Tutorials & How-Tos part of the forum. There you can find a lot of information about including linux distro's.
Last edited by Icecube on Tue May 13, 2008 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

wernes
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 12:36 am

#3 Post by wernes » Thu May 08, 2008 1:26 pm

Thank you Icecube,for this information.I will wait untill the new version of ubcd will get on the download "shelf" :).

wernes
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 12:36 am

#4 Post by wernes » Thu May 22, 2008 12:59 pm

I made it!With UBCD4.1.1 but from the other direction:I integrated parted magic,mini ubuntu and pclinuxos minime in UBCD.And all are working fine.Except some (maybe all) dos apps.Why is that?Because the only thing I have done was to add some folders to existing structure of UBCD.Now ,when I choose whatever dos app from menu ,is loading freedos instead of that app.Because i didn't changed the UBCD structure what could be the explanation for this?And the solution?Thank you.

The Piney
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Location: FL

#5 Post by The Piney » Thu May 22, 2008 4:39 pm

The DOS Apps need to be run from within a DOS environment, so FreeDOS should start and then the application should start.

Just let it run through and if that still doesn't work, let us know what exactly is going on (or not going on) with some detail, ie. the apps your trying to run..

wernes
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 12:36 am

#6 Post by wernes » Sat May 24, 2008 12:21 pm

I tested (in VirtulaBox and in a real drive)again my modded UBCD and the problem was that the freedos needed a lot of time to load it's drivers and components.Now i had the time to wait for every dos app that i tested to pass the freedos stage and reach the app first screen.At first ,when i posted the previous message i didn't have enough time to stay and see what is happening in the end,after all freedos components were loaded.I thought that is something wrong with my ubcd because because for every app i tried to run i got the same endless screens with freedos loading a bunch of drivers and stuff.Today i had the time to wait untill everything was loaded and surprise:finaly every dos app was ready to run.I'm still concern of the very long time that freedos need to load any app:around 4 minutes!Is this normal?

Victor Chew
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#7 Post by Victor Chew » Sun May 25, 2008 4:51 am

I'm still concern of the very long time that freedos need to load any app:around 4 minutes!Is this normal?
No, it should take less than a minute. Where is it stalling, or taking the longest time?

The Piney
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Location: FL

#8 Post by The Piney » Sun May 25, 2008 9:56 am

The only times I've seen long load times like your describing has been when there is a problem reading the CD or you have an uncommon device on the system.

Locked