It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Chaining boots/tests in a batch
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:53 am
Posts: 4
I figured out how to auto boot by modifying the .cfg files, but how do I "chain" tests together so that I can let it boot, do one test, then when that test exits, start another test, which may need to run from a different image?

TIA!
D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
firstly, the programs you're running would need to support some form of parameters that support scripting events.

e.g.
Code:
:: START SCRIPT ::
call app1.bat
call app2.bat
...


and so on. each bat file would contain parameters and commands supported by the respective application. at the end of each call function, the script would then proceed to the next .bat file in the command chain.

the easiest way to do what you propose (assuming the applications support some form of automated scripting), would be to extract the image files of the apps you're interested in running before calling them directly from within the same session (i.e. without rebooting).

a method whereby you chain reboot commands would require something far more elaborate (e.g. using memdisk to pass additional parameters to a script that is able to detect which sequence in the command chain you're at, etc, ad infinitum)

(-:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:53 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for the tips; I'll see what I can work out. I didn't really mean that I wanted to reboot between each test, just that I thought I had to if the various tests ran off different images. Is there any example anywhere with more details on how to run one test, then activate a different test that runs off a different os image?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
If you want to run a test from another image, you have to reboot.

Or you can try grub4dos. It is a bootloader based on Grub Legacy, but it can be run from dos. So if you make a minimal dos bootdisk, you can add batch scripts to it, that can load another image. But once that image is loaded and booted, it won't close from itself so you will have to reboot your pc by hand.
https://gna.org/mail/?group=grub4dos
Forum:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/?showforum=66
Wiki:
http://grub4dos.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Main_Page


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group