Chaining boots/tests in a batch

Try looking for help here if you are having problems with the Ultimate Boot CD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

Locked
Message
Author
wraenviro
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:53 am

Chaining boots/tests in a batch

#1 Post by wraenviro » Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:27 am

I figured out how to auto boot by modifying the .cfg files, but how do I "chain" tests together so that I can let it boot, do one test, then when that test exits, start another test, which may need to run from a different image?

TIA!
D

as702
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am

#2 Post by as702 » Sat Jul 26, 2008 1:08 pm

firstly, the programs you're running would need to support some form of parameters that support scripting events.

e.g.

Code: Select all

:: START SCRIPT ::
call app1.bat
call app2.bat
...
and so on. each bat file would contain parameters and commands supported by the respective application. at the end of each call function, the script would then proceed to the next .bat file in the command chain.

the easiest way to do what you propose (assuming the applications support some form of automated scripting), would be to extract the image files of the apps you're interested in running before calling them directly from within the same session (i.e. without rebooting).

a method whereby you chain reboot commands would require something far more elaborate (e.g. using memdisk to pass additional parameters to a script that is able to detect which sequence in the command chain you're at, etc, ad infinitum)

(-:

wraenviro
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 8:53 am

#3 Post by wraenviro » Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:10 pm

Thanks for the tips; I'll see what I can work out. I didn't really mean that I wanted to reboot between each test, just that I thought I had to if the various tests ran off different images. Is there any example anywhere with more details on how to run one test, then activate a different test that runs off a different os image?

Icecube
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Contact:

#4 Post by Icecube » Mon Jul 28, 2008 3:32 pm

If you want to run a test from another image, you have to reboot.

Or you can try grub4dos. It is a bootloader based on Grub Legacy, but it can be run from dos. So if you make a minimal dos bootdisk, you can add batch scripts to it, that can load another image. But once that image is loaded and booted, it won't close from itself so you will have to reboot your pc by hand.
https://gna.org/mail/?group=grub4dos
Forum:
http://www.boot-land.net/forums/?showforum=66
Wiki:
http://grub4dos.sourceforge.net/wiki/in ... /Main_Page

Locked