It is currently Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: IsoLinux fails to load, no error messages
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 4:39 am
Posts: 3
I can not find this issue through search, but hopefully it is common enough to have an easy and quick answer.

Using UBCD411, Dell 8200, Windows XP Home SP3

PROBLEM: UBCD initializes, gets the message "ISOLinux 3.35 2007-01-08 Copyright (C)1994-2007 H. Peter Anvin". At which point it just sits there, for hours if I let it, without moving. There is NO activity on the cd-rom drive. No blinking lights, no further attempts to read disk, and after a minute or so it spins-down to a stop, exactly like it isn't doing anything (which it's not).

The ISO was in a self-extracting exe that extracted fine, so the ISO is fine. I have burned it at least three different times to both CDRW and CD-R, never higher than 4x burn using two different burning apps. The burned CD copies back to hdd without pausing or CRC, so contents appear to have burned-in w/o error and the disk reads clean. I have tried two different CDRom drives (one CD the other DVD/Combo), both jumpered to Master. The only other thing connected to the computer is the HDD I'm trying to work on. I have NEVER had a hard time booting a Linux Live-CD before, and the other Live-CD, boot-CDs and various Linux/Windows installation CDs I have all boot fine. This is not a media error, nor a drive error. It may be a BIOS error but I get past bios fine, it just hangs loading the disks OS so I don't think it is a bios error either.

The ONLY thing suspect, that I can think of, is the fact that CD drive and HDD are connected to the Secondary IDE channel on the Mainboard (Primary is blown out), but this does not stall-out any other bootable disks so I can't see how that would affect this one.

ANY help is appreciated, even if it is just detailed instructions on how to create a bootable CD w/o using UBCD using Freeware apps. None of the burning programs on my compy have a "make disk bootable" option, though they will all burn ISO. I know there has to be a way to make an ISO that will automatically bootable once burned, I just don't know how to do it. I only need one damn program off this disk, and would be happy to make my own bootable CD if I knew how.

Thanks for the help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Try to update syslinux/isolinux.

Unpack the ubcd.iso
Use 7zip, winrar, ... to upack the iso.
Extract it to "c:\ubcd-extract\.

Download syslinux from http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/boot/syslinux/.

Extract the syslinux archive to "c:\syslinux\".

To update isolinux for the CD version
- Copy "c:\syslinux\core\isolinux.bin" to "c:\ubcd-extract\isolinux\".
- Copy "c:\syslinux\com32\menu\menu.c32" to "c:\ubcd-extract\isolinux\".
- Copy "c:\syslinux\com32\modules\chain.c32" to "c:\ubcd-extract\isolinux\"
- Copy "c:\syslinux\memdisk\memdisk" to "c:\ubcd-extract\isolinux\"

To update syslinux for the bootable USB key
- Copy "c:\syslinux\core\ldlinux.sys" to "c:\ubcd-extract\syslinux\".
- Copy "c:\syslinux\mbr\mbr.bin" and "c:\syslinux\ldloader.bss" to "c:\ubcd-extract\tools\ubcd2usb\".
- Copy "c:\syslinux\com32\menu\menu.c32" to "c:\ubcd-extract\syslinux\"
- Copy "c:\syslinux\com32\modules\chain.c32" to "c:\ubcd-extract\syslinux\"
- Copy "c:\syslinux\memdisk\memdisk" to "c:\ubcd-extract\syslinux\"

You can also update the vesamenu.cfg of slax.
- Copy "c:\syslinux\com32\menu\vesamenu.c32" to "c:\slax\boot\vesamenu.c32"

Remaster the iso:
If you don't know how to do it, see http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1343.


You also can download UBCD500 (beta 5), which has a new version of syslinux/isolinux.
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1550


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 4:39 am
Posts: 3
Icecube, thanks for the info. I downloaded the beta release since it had an updated version of the program I was aiming for, but now have a new problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group