Enable NTFS for Virus scan?

Try looking for help here if you are having problems with the Ultimate Boot CD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

Locked
Message
Author
Rizlaboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:42 am

Enable NTFS for Virus scan?

#1 Post by Rizlaboy » Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:11 am

Hello,
I'm trying to use UBCD 3.4 to virus scan my Windows XP PC. When I select any of the virus scan tools, they don't seem to be able to see my physical drives (c: etc)
I see in other posts that this problem is to do with enabling NTFS support. How is this done? :?:

Victor Chew
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#2 Post by Victor Chew » Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:39 pm

During booting of FreeDOS, one of the dialog boxes will ask you if you wish to enable NTFS support. I think it is directly after the one that enables long filename support.

Rizlaboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:42 am

#3 Post by Rizlaboy » Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:05 am

Yes, I've got it working now. Selected NTFS support in the boot sequence. Another question though....it says the NTFS support is read only. Does this mean that Antivirus software such as F-Prot cannot delete or quarantine suspicious files?? :?:

Victor Chew
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#4 Post by Victor Chew » Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:37 am

Yup, since we can only legally include the freeware, read-only version of NTFSDOS (published by SysInternals). The write capability is only available in their payware pro version.

Rizlaboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:42 am

#5 Post by Rizlaboy » Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:28 pm

Thanks Victor,
If I owned the Pro version of NTFSDOS, would it possible for me to add the NTFSDOS Pro version to my own custom UBCD image? How hard would that be? :?:

Victor Chew
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#6 Post by Victor Chew » Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:41 pm

Sure. You need to find a way to access the contents of the disk image (eg. WinImage). The file to modify is level1\ntfs.cab, which you need some other way of unpacking and recompressing. Just replace bin\NTFSDOS.EXE with the Pro version.

Rizlaboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:42 am

#7 Post by Rizlaboy » Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:34 pm

When you say "edit the image", are you refering to the UBCD image..or some other bin file contained on the CD? Where do I locate "level1\ntfs.cab"? :?:

Victor Chew
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#8 Post by Victor Chew » Fri Apr 14, 2006 2:19 pm

Sorry, I was referring to images/freedos.img. It's a floppy disk image that boots up FreeDOS.

Locked