fried controller board

Post your suggestions here if there are new features or applications that you would like added to the Ultimate Boot CD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

memius

fried controller board

#1 Post by memius » Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:58 pm

i have an old toshiba 20G laptop hard drive which suffered an electrostatic shock. it wouldn't show up in the bios, nor in the os after that. it does spin, and makes clacking noises. i think the shock caused a controller board malfunction.

now you're all thinking it's dead, because of the clacking, but since the reason for the malfunction was not a physical bump, i don't think it's the reader arm that's broken.

ubcd managed to see it, but not diagnose or read it.

i'm a newbie to ubcd, so there may be tricks on it that i haven't discovered, but in case there is no such thing on the cd, it would be very nice with some software that could override the controller board.

StopSpazzing

Re: fried controller board

#2 Post by StopSpazzing » Tue Mar 31, 2009 7:35 pm

memius wrote:i have an old toshiba 20G laptop hard drive which suffered an electrostatic shock. it wouldn't show up in the bios, nor in the os after that. it does spin, and makes clacking noises. i think the shock caused a controller board malfunction.

now you're all thinking it's dead, because of the clacking, but since the reason for the malfunction was not a physical bump, i don't think it's the reader arm that's broken.

ubcd managed to see it, but not diagnose or read it.

i'm a newbie to ubcd, so there may be tricks on it that i haven't discovered, but in case there is no such thing on the cd, it would be very nice with some software that could override the controller board.