It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 12:15 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dell Bootable Diag ISOs
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 136
Dell offers bootable ISOs troubleshooting their systems, and I can get it to work with the option

boot bcdw \custom\cdd_1280.iso

Edit - When I move the USB mouse at the first GUI screen of the Dell software the program crashes, but after I select the test option via the keyboard the USB works normally.

Is there an option to turn off the USB with bcdw? Any other options?

Victor you may want to look at including this diagnostic.


Last edited by Scott Cooper on Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 5:44 am
Posts: 90
I also use the Dell diags. Although... I removed them from the iso's and CD's and added the directly into my disk. I can't run the memory tests in the delldiags this way but I still get to run them. Might be worth a shot...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 136
Baron how did you add them directly to the disk? The ISO I have does not show the files in Windows as Dell intentionally hides them, even when using WinImage or WinRAR.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 5:44 am
Posts: 90
All the iso's I have seen from Dell havehad the files visible... Another way to get them would be to visit the support.dell.copm website and download the HardDrive variant of the diag software. If you get the floppy base software, it will be 4 disks and i have not been able to successfully get those onto the UBCD and work. But the HD ones I have got to work except for the memeory tests due to how the disk works. Plus you can put multiple version like I have so you can test a multitude of Dell machines unless you are in a Homogeneous shop... I am in a Heterogeneous shop with a multitude of Dell form factors and antiquity.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 136
I have figured out how to add the Dell Diags under dosapps.

The included Dell memory test also works.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group