It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:32 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Load problem with Maxtor PowerMax on Dell laptop
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:10 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Deerfield Mass.
I have a new Dell Inspiron 1000 laptop, and naturally one of the first things I wanted to try out on it was UBCD. But when I started up the Maxtor disk checking utility PowerMax, the machine hung immediately after the message indicating that Caldera DOS was starting. It wasn't completely hung, however, because Ctl-Alt-Del still worked. Perhaps this is a bug in Caldera DOS, but it's a bug nonetheless that I assume affects a number of UBCD utilities.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:44 pm
Posts: 8
Location: France
Hi !

I am also interested in solving this problem .....
I have two Maxtor harddisks om my machine, but can get only a few utilities of the Ultimate Boot CD
working .... I get also this message :
Starting CALDERA DR-DOS .......

and the system hangs .....


Would be nice to get an answer !


Jaima


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Load problem with Maxtor PowerMax on Dell laptop
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1259
I suspect CDShell + related modules do not always work on the diverse
range of machines out there. I myself recently encountered such a
machine (AMD64 + Gigabyte K8N Pro) where PowerMax could not boot.

What I will do is to update to the latest CDShell + related modules for
the next release of UBCD. Hopefully, the updated modules will work
better on more machines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:44 pm
Posts: 8
Location: France
Thanks for your answer ... :D
I will wait till the next release of the UBCD !

jaima


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 11:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:44 pm
Posts: 8
Location: France
Sorry to have to make the same call for help ....
I updated UBCD from 2.2 to 23 version, but I am
facing the same problem I described in my post
from Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:38 pm .

I have two Maxtor harddisks om my machine, but can get only a few utilities of the Ultimate Boot CD
working .... I get also this message :
Starting CALDERA DR-DOS .......

and the system hangs .....

Any ideas how to solve the problem ??

Thanks

Jaima


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Load problem with Maxtor PowerMax on Dell laptop
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 12:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1259
Is it possible for you to try booting from a physical floppy disk
containing eg. PowerMax, and see whether that works properly?

Of course, if you can't connect a floppy drive to your machine, then
any chance of dropping to the console at the UBCD menu and try booting
using diskemu or bcdw?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:44 pm
Posts: 8
Location: France
Thanks for the answer ...
Victor Chew wrote :
Is it possible for you to try booting from a physical floppy disk containing eg. PowerMax, and see whether that works properly?

I have no problems with booting from physical floppy disk and using PowerMax .... I used it before I came to know the UBCD ? it works fine.

So far I remember PowerMax is also working fine if booting from the UBCD ....


Jaima


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Load problem with Maxtor PowerMax on Dell laptop
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1259
So which other applications are not working? Could you try booting one
that is not working from the floppy disk? I am just trying to isolate
the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 8:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:44 pm
Posts: 8
Location: France
Hi !

I fear I will have no time before saturday to try some applications which are not working - booting from the floppy disk - Other applications that are not working :
a lot of, those which use Caldera DR-DOS for example.


Something strange :
I tried to burn one CD on Linux with K3b , using slow speeds, I can boot, I have no access to the usual menu on a green background : F1, F2, F3, .....
but Caldera DR-DOS is loading automatically, no more system hang , it ends at command prompt ...

Thanks

jaima


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group