Did you get NTFS support working?

Report new bugs here, or look at known issues of current and previous releases of UBCD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

Locked

Have you got NTFS working on your system(s)?

Yes (FreeDOS + NTFSDOS only)
1
20%
Yes (INSERT + Captive only)
0
No votes
Yes (Both FreeDOS and INSERT)
0
No votes
No
4
80%
 
Total votes: 5

Message
Author
Administrator
Site Admin
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:30 pm

Did you get NTFS support working?

#1 Post by Administrator » Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:34 pm

Just a quick survey to see whether the problems I am facing are machine dependent or not. I have not been able to get NTFS to work on both my home (Win2K) and work (WinXP) machine. I tried both FreeDOS + NTFSDOS, and INSERT + Captive. What is your experience?

Victor Chew
Posts: 1359
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#2 Post by Victor Chew » Wed Jul 06, 2005 8:34 pm

BTW, just found out I could get a pretty reliable read-only mount from INSERT using:

Code: Select all

su - root
mkdir /mnt/ntfs
mount -o ro -t ntfs /dev/hda1 /mnt/ntfs

mmayberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:58 am

#3 Post by mmayberry » Thu Jul 14, 2005 11:04 am

Haven't gotten NTFS r/w to work yet. I have tried both the FreeDOS and the Insert methods.

I found an interesting post at http://www.computing.net/linux/wwwboard ... 27880.html which states that he was able to get captive working by adding the user captive to the group captive. My problem is that I was expecting usermod to be available, but it does not appear to be. How else can I modify this user account?

bldrdash
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:04 am

Did you get NTFS support working?

#4 Post by bldrdash » Thu Jul 14, 2005 2:55 pm

Thanks for the post. Victor has also mentioned he had
trouble and after reading the link I think I may see the
problem:

The post you mention talks about adding the user insert to
the group captive. Try to use captive as root and see if
you have different results. If you are running Captive from
the FluxBox menu it should already run as root, but if you're
doing it from the command line, make sure you're in a root shell.

If it still doesn't work, please drop to a root shell and type
"fdisk -l" (that's a lowercase L) and post the results; we'll
then step through and see what's going wrong. If you know bash
you can also read through /usr/sbin/startcaptive and issue the
commands manually and see what fails.

Also note compatibility. The captive author has posted these
notes:
http://www.jankratochvil.net/project/ca ... l#versions
and
http://cvs.jankratochvil.net/viewcvs/*c ... l/acquire/
w32-mod-id.captivemodid.xml?rev=HEAD&content-type=text/plain

I have tested with XP SP2 and it works for me.

The reason we didn't add user "insert" to the group "captive"
is that, normally, only root can mount filesystems. It sounds
like the captive author may have made a mod such that, in addition
to root, anyone whose part of the captive group can mount too.

> I found an interesting post at
> http://www.computing.net/linux/wwwboard ... 27880.html
> which states that he was able to get captive working by
> adding the user captive to the group captive. My problem is
> that I was expecting usermod to be available, but it does not
> appear to be. How else can I modify this user account?

You can't modify /etc/groups without remastering (at least, at
this time).

-- Charles

Victor Chew
Posts: 1359
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#5 Post by Victor Chew » Fri Jul 15, 2005 1:40 am

Here's my output on VMWare 4.5.2.

This mounts the Win2K filesystem as read-only, and the directory listing shows that it is working:

Image

This tries to mount the Win2K filesystem using Captive:

Image[/img]

Steep
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 1:03 am
Location: Italy

WORKS BUT...

#6 Post by Steep » Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:45 pm

NFTS support works for me but mainly in readonly mode... when I try to RENAME or SAVE AS files after editing under NTFS4DOS I get an INVALID OPCODE error and have to reboot... it's a real headache

Locked