Panic: MCB chain corrupted, system halted

Report new bugs here, or look at known issues of current and previous releases of UBCD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

Locked
Message
Author
peterle
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 7:47 am

Panic: MCB chain corrupted, system halted

#1 Post by peterle » Sun Sep 11, 2005 7:49 am

Also had this with an AWARD flashtool, wasnt really nice while flashing the mobo. Makes the bootdisk urgently useless for me or does this message only show with freedos????

THX

kitutou2
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:20 am

Panic : MCB corrupted chain

#2 Post by kitutou2 » Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:09 am

Yes, I have the same problem. I use a Medion Laptop + Toshiba HDD + UBCD 3.3.

I have the message "MCB corrupted" everytime I launch freedos. Other boot disks (linux) boot fine. So I cannot run any soft working with freedos!

Fantastic!

expat83
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:29 am

FREE DOS no go

#3 Post by expat83 » Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:32 am

Hi

I have an IBM R31 ThinkPad and I also cannot use anything that
starts off in FreeDos. (PANIC MCB Chain corrupted).
CD looks like it might be helpful, but.......... :(

Victor Chew
Posts: 1359
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#4 Post by Victor Chew » Fri Dec 02, 2005 7:11 pm

Just to confirm, did you guys try one of the other memory options during startup (EMM386 etc.)? That might help.

CurlBoy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:15 am

#5 Post by CurlBoy » Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:16 am

Yeah, you are right man! :(

jaima
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: France

#6 Post by jaima » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:05 am

Victor Chew wrote:Just to confirm, did you guys try one of the other memory options during startup (EMM386 etc.)? That might help.
How do you do this thing with EMM386 ??
I tried it with the Insert-Taste, but I don't see this option "EMM386".

Thanks

jaima

Victor Chew
Posts: 1359
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Contact:

#7 Post by Victor Chew » Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:18 am

I was referring to FreeDOS. When you launch FreeDOS, the first screen gives you a bunch of memory options to choose from.

superchuck
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

#8 Post by superchuck » Sat Jul 18, 2009 8:18 am

Victor Chew wrote:I was referring to FreeDOS. When you launch FreeDOS, the first screen gives you a bunch of memory options to choose from.
Why is that? (I've been using UBCD v2.4 for years with no problems -- and no "memory options" to choose from.)

Now that I am trying to get v4.1.1 up and working I am finding that all of the apps that use "dosubcd.igz" don't work. I have tried a number of these "memory options". Almost all fail - with different errors.

I've searched this forum and found some stuff relating to an updated copy of FreeDOS -- but that doesn't seem to work either.

What is the solution to this?

Is there a post on how to use a DOS v6.2 or Win98 boot floppy to start the apps instead of FreeDOS?

Icecube
Posts: 1278
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Contact:

#9 Post by Icecube » Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:42 am

Try UBCD50b12 and see if the problem persists.
Download Ultimate Boot CD v5.0: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download.html
Use Parted Magic for handling all partitioning task: http://partedmagic.com/

superchuck
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

#10 Post by superchuck » Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:08 am

Icecube wrote:Try UBCD50b12 and see if the problem persists.
OK -- I'm downloading it now. Will be able to burn a CD and test sometime on Monday.

However, how about explaining what's going on with the "memory options"?

Why do they appear?

And... is there a post on how to create a DOS 6.20 or Win98 boot floppy so we could use that instead of FreeDOS?

superchuck
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 4:01 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

#11 Post by superchuck » Sun Jul 19, 2009 7:59 pm

I burned v5 iso to CD -- NO JOY!! (same "memory management" screen appears).

Locked