It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A success story with EditBINI
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1289
I just successfully helped out a friend using EditBINI, so I thought I'd share the experience here in case someone else might benefit from it.

I have a friend who has a Dell Inspirion notebook. Recently he upgraded his HDD from 80GB to 160GB. He used Acronis TrueImage to create an image of the 80GB HDD to an external USB drive, then clone it to the new HDD.

After doing that, his notebook wouldn't boot. It just says:

Code:
Windows could not start because of a computer disk hardware configuration problem.

Could not read from the selected boot disk. Check boot path and disk hardware.

Please check the Windows documentation about hardware disk configuration and your hardware reference manuals for additional information.


After mucking around with his machine for a few hours and googling for information, I finally did something that worked. Using EditBINI, I edited his BOOT.INI file from:

Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect


to

Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect


I think it has got something to do with a hidden partition on his original Dell HDD that wasn't cloned over to his new harddisk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 5:44 am
Posts: 90
This was more than likely the Diagnostic tool partition. It is a hidden partition at the begining of the drive that contains the Dell only diag tools. That would explain why it was partition 2 originally but Partition 1 afterwards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Posts: 296
Location: FL
Are you still able to get into setup? If it's like the HP/Compaq systems you may want to go to the Dell site and see if you can get that downloaded and reinstalled. Then the image would probably work without the edit. He/You may also be able to run the Dell diags off of a CD and save the hassle of loading onto the drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group