It is currently Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HOWTO: Integrate Partition Magic V8 into UBCD V4
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1274
Extract the content of UBCD to your harddisk. I am assuming the content of UBCD is in c:\ubcd.

Download pm8make.zip and extract to any folder.

Follow the instructions in "readme.txt" to create a bootable 2.88MB disk image called pm8.img from two 1.44MB Partition Magic V8 rescue disk images.

Move pm8.img to c:\ubcd\custom.

Edit "c:\ubcd\custom\custom.cfg" with a text editor:

Code:
MENU INCLUDE /menus/defaults.cfg
LABEL back
  MENU LABEL ..
  KERNEL menu.c32
  APPEND /menus/main.cfg
LABEL pm8
  MENU LABEL Partition Magic V8.0
  KERNEL memdisk
  APPEND initrd=/custom/pm8.img


That's it! Create a customized UBCD image using "c:\ubcd\tools\ubcd2iso\ubcd2iso.bat" and you are ready to launch Partition Magic from "User-Defined Tools".


Last edited by Victor Chew on Wed May 09, 2007 5:32 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I can't get this to work
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
I can't create a UBCD image part

Quote:
Create a customized UBCD image using "c:\ubcd\tools\ubcd2iso\ubcd2iso.bat" and you are ready to launch Partition Magic from "User-Defined Tools".


I have done it exactly the same way as u guys did it i have a UBCD in my C:\Drive as UBCD40.iso which i downloaded from the main page.

Any ideas?

Raiders

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 1:21 am
Posts: 336
Location: France
What do you mean by "I can't" ?
Do you get an error message when trying ? If so, what does it say ?
If not, what seems to be the problem ? Can't find some file ?
Did you extract the ISO ?

_________________
Hammerite Compendium of Precepts, Regimens and Rules of Conduct, Vol. 113 :
A stroke of thy chisel, once made, canst be undone, but a stroke thou dost not make from fear is a worse flaw.
Be not cautious - be correct.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 7:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
I can't get the file when i use the 'ubcd2iso.bat' it does not produce the file for me. I did extract the UBCD40.iso but i still kept the C:\UBCD40.iso. I never got an error message will my UBCD.iso that was made from that be else where?

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1274
How about posting the console output so that we can try to figure out what's wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
console output what is that :?

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:50 pm
Posts: 3
Post the error message and any other interesting tidbits that appear on your screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
As i said above there is no error message... i also used this tutorial for the PM8

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/pm8.html

Is that correct i did edit the scn file and the BAT

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 4:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1274
That is for an older version of UBCD.

Do you have UBCD V3.4 or V4?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
i have v4.0

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1274
Quote:
Is that correct i did edit the scn file and the BAT


I don't get it. You should be following this HOWTO for V4.0, which does not mention scn files (which are V3.4 only), just cfg files.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 11:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
So what u saying is i shud jst follow this guide?? without editing the scn file?

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1274
Yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:29 am
Posts: 2
I get the following error when trying to re-create the custom image.

Quote:
C:\UBCD\TOOLS\UBCD2ISO>UBCD2ISO C:\UBCD C:\UBCD40.ISO
UBCD2ISO: Creating bootable UBCD ISO image ...
Warning: creating filesystem that does not conform to ISO-9660.
Warning: creating filesystem with (nonstandard) Joliet extensions
but without (standard) Rock Ridge extensions.
It is highly recommended to add Rock Ridge
Using BOOT000.CAT for /BOOT.CAT (boot.catalog)
mkisofs: Uh oh, I cant find the boot image 'isolinux/isolinux.bin' !

(ERROR) 'mkisofs.exe' failed

Press any key to continue . . .


I have checked myself and isolinux.bin *IS* there. :-/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
Image

Heres what i get when i run the from the other Parition (want to keep C:\ clean)D:\UBCD\TOOLS\UBCD2ISO\UBCD2ISO.BAT

Why is this not working i try to boot the CD from rebooting my PC it never boots up the CD. and everytime press a buttom Boot from CD/DVD: at start up in does nothing. Also Everytime i click on the CD Drive that CD is in it is under E:\ it displays the icon and saids this:

Image

I had to use Ashampoo to burn the CD as UBCD2ISO won't burn it so i made an ISO in Ashampoo Burning Studio 6 and burn it from there

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 9:29 am
Posts: 2
You need to actually type

"UBCD2ISO D:\UBCD B:"

Where you change B: to the letter of your USB stick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
brainchylde wrote:
You need to actually type

"UBCD2ISO D:\UBCD B:"

Where you change B: to the letter of your USB stick.


Where do i type that i can't type in it i have to press a key to continue

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1274
Check out this thread.

Basically, the app you used to extract the content of the ISO image made everything uppercase, but mkisofs is case-sensitive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:01 am
Posts: 12
Location: Earth Where Else?
2 days and still not working is it suppose to extract it back to C:\ubcd40.iso when using c:\tools\ubcd2iso\ubcd2iso.bat?

I think am asking u that because i looked at the bat file it is saids (See bold)

Code:
@echo off

rem * Create a bootable UBCD ISO image
rem *
rem * Ultimate Boot CD (UBCD): http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
rem * syslinux: http://syslinux.zytor.com/

@echo on
@if "%debug%"=="" echo off

if "%1"==":" if not "%2"=="" goto %2

if "%1"=="" goto _help
if "%2"=="" goto _help

echo UBCD2ISO: Creating bootable UBCD ISO image ...

if not exist mkisofs.exe                %0 : _error Missing file 'mkisofs.exe'
if not exist "%1\isolinux\isolinux.bin" %0 : _error Missing file '%1\isolinux\ISOLINUX.BIN'
if not exist wait.com                   %0 : _error Missing file 'wait.com'

pushd "%1"
%~p0\mkisofs.exe -N -J -joliet-long -D -V "UBCD40" -o "%2" -b "isolinux/ISOLINUX.BIN" -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table .
popd
if errorlevel 0 goto _success
%0 : _error 'mkisofs.exe' failed

:_success
echo UBCD2ISO: Bootable UBCD ISO image has been created
echo.
wait 3
if not "%3"=="-Y" if not "%3"=="-y" pause
goto _end

:_help
echo.
echo UBCD2ISO: Create bootable UBCD ISO image
echo.
echo Params:   -Y : No pause (for batch-mode)
echo.
echo Usage:    UBCD2ISO (UBCD-path) (output-image) [params]
echo.
echo Example:  UBCD2ISO c:\ubcd c:\ubcd40.iso
echo           ([b]UBCD extracted in dir 'c:\ubcd', ISO image written to 'c:\ubcd40.iso[/b]')
echo.
echo Required: W2K/XP/W2K3 and UBCD extracted to local storage
echo.
pause
goto _end

:_error
shift
shift
echo.
echo (ERROR) %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8
echo.
pause
goto _end

:_end


Well so far i have tried made 'isolinux.bin' in uppercase but the folder 'c:\isolinux' in lower case but thats they way i have done it and all the rest is in uppercase apart from 'c:\ubcd\custom' folder

can't find out what the problem is here i am using isobuster is there anyway extract 'c:\uncd40.iso' output lowercase?

_________________
HNC/HND CompTIA Network + Passed Student


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1274
Quote:
can't find out what the problem is here i am using isobuster is there anyway extract 'c:\uncd40.iso' output lowercase?


When using isobuster to extract, make sure you select the Joliet icon (blue marked by ">>>") instead of the ISO icon (red marked by "ISO").

Then select all the files/folders in the right window (should be all lowercase) and drag-and-drop them to the target folder in Windows Explorer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group