It is currently Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:58 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 5:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1345
New release 0.2.3b is now available: https://www.ultimatebootcd.com/ubcdlive.html

Changelog:

- Replaced fbautostart with shell script in .icewm/startup.
- Added systester V1.5.1.
- Added LXTerminal icon to desktop.
- Added gnome-disk-utility for storage device management and benchmarking.
- Make SpaceFM interface single-click instead of double-click.

Build script: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download/build023b.txz


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2015 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 5:26 am
Posts: 817
FWIW, I attached the ISO image to a VM and used it as boot device. I am unable to see the applications menu (what in a Windows OS is known as "the start menu"). When clicking on the menu button / icon, a very minimal rectangle (almost a horizontal line) can be seen, but no action can be actually performed on such small area.

In other words, the content of the applications / programs menu cannot be read by the user (or at least by me in this case) in a VM.

When clicking on the desktop with the right button, the context menu is seen correctly.

I tried changing the screen resolution (from the icon located on the desktop of UBCDLive), but I cannot see the content of the apps menu anyway (I have not checked whether changing the screen resolution in UBCDLive actually changed anything else).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1345
Which VM are you using?

Just verified with VMWare V6.0.6 without any issues.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 8:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 5:26 am
Posts: 817
This time I tested with VMware Player 6.0.3, and with VirtualBox 4.2.24. The behavior I described can be seen in both.

In both cases I used low resources for the guest (e.g. screen resolution up to 1024x768 or lower, 384 MiB RAM being shared for video too).

Using the "failsafe" boot menu doesn't change the resulting behavior in these VMs.

I can reproduce the same behavior with prior versions of UBCDLive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1345
There can't be that much difference between VMWare V6.0.3 and V6.0.6...

Here's my VM config:

Image

Also tested on an old Inspiron laptop (boot via USB stick) with no issue as well.

Now downloading latest version of VirtualBox to try...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 3:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 5:26 am
Posts: 817
Notable differences; I am testing:

_ with a low-end RAM value.
_ with a low-end screen resolution value.
_ with IDE/PATA (booting from virtual cd-rom, either with or without a HDD image attached).
_ with no sound, no USB and no network.
_ on a 32-bit host.

Please also note that I am _not_ using the latest VirtualBox version (nor the latest branch either).

I don't know whether this test is worth much attention. I just wanted to share it, in case someone else experiences the same behavior, or in case it affects low-end / old real hardware.

FWIW, I usually test UBCD (classic, not Live) in similar conditions (low resources VMs).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2015 4:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 3:50 am
Posts: 3
Hello, How I can expand the capacity of "persistence"? Can this be done?

Thank you in advance and congratulations for this great tool.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1345
It's quite easy actually if you have any version of Debian or Ubuntu installed.

Reference: http://live.debian.net/manual/1.x/html/persistence.html

Code:
cd /media/disk (change directory to your USB drive; actual path may vary)
rm -f persistence* (remove the old persistence file)
dd if=/dev/null of=persistence bs=1G seek=1
mkfs.ext2 -F persistence

Obviously you need to change the "seek=1" parameter to the desired size eg. 2 for 2gig, 4 for 4gig etc.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 3:50 am
Posts: 3
Thank you for responding Victor Chew.

I have configurations, data and installed programs in the original partition. I want to avoid losing:

I could create a new "persistent" partition larger capacity (3 or 4 G, for example) without deleting the original 1G?
And then clone the original in the new?
I have a debian installed, but I'm not a power user.

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 5:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1345
"installed programs"?! What's that doing in a live rescue CD? :shock:

Anyway, I think creating a new partition and cloning old to new should work.

But as usual, make backups so that you can revert if anything goes wrong.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 3:50 am
Posts: 3
Victor Chew wrote:
"installed programs"?! What's that doing in a live rescue CD?


I use a flash drive.
I searched and added repositories and "apt-get update".
I then used "apt-get install aptitude" and "aptitude install iceweasel" or "aptitude install ddrescue-gui" (for example).
And it works. He is persistent. But 1G appears low...Neither do I know how to place programs in the Start menu.

I try to create a new partition "persistence-2".
And clone or copy the "persistence".
I do not know yet how, but I'll try.

Thank you very much Victor Chew.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 9:18 pm
Posts: 1
Just throwing this in. You might want to encorporate Shim in order to support both UEFI and Secure Boot. It's been around since 2012 and I don't know if this was already something you guys considered, but it's worth a look if not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:16 am
Posts: 1
Hello,

Thank you for starting this tool.

I hope I can provide some feedback for the tool as I have a special use case that this distro cannot fulfil.

Sometimes I need to clone from a larger drive to a smaller one (eg: for SSD replacement). In this case clonezilla cannot be used, but you can shrink and copy the partition using Gparted included.

After doing this the only thing to repair is the bootloader. On parted magic one is included, however there is not boot loader repair I can find on UBCD live. As a result I have to use another method to restore this.

As a suggestion, could boot repair be included? This tool allows me to reinstall GRUB onto a copied/"cloned" disk that was cloned using gparted.
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair

This would allow the tool to cover these cases where clonezilla cannot be used to do the clone.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group