It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Parted Magic 3.0 is out
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 3:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Parted Magic 3.0 is out.
http://partedmagic.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
hope this one works. i never could get the previous release to run under VMware.

q-:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Me neither. Victor also didn't succeed.

See: http://partedmagic.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=176

But there was a guy ( see the link on that page), who booted the grub iso in qemu. It was a development version that day, but I never got it up completely in qemu. Virtualbox crashes in the beginning (no support for the newest kernel at the moment).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
I can boot Parted Magic 3.0 in qemu now! :D
You have to add the 'noeject' option to the isolinux entry of the Parted Magic menu.

See my post at: http://partedmagic.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=176


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
nice. i'll see if it works under VMworkstation.

(-:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:34 pm
Posts: 10
If the newer kernels are causing problems in virtual machines you can add "noreplace-paravirt" to the ISOLinux entry. If you have display issues you can also try adding the "xforcevesa" option.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Parted Magic 3 and UBCD V5.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:35 am
Posts: 35
Will Parted Magic 3 be added to UBCD V5?


I use Virtual Box and have had no problems emulateing newer versions of the Linux kernal. I have not yet tried Parted Magic as I am wateing till UBCD 5 is out of beta to test it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Yes, Parted Magic 3.0 will be added to UBCD.

Which version of VirtualBox are you using? In my case it didn't work (VirtualBox 1.6.2, Linux version). Only when I add the noreplace-paravirt option, it works. Other distributions which use the newest kernel also didn't work with VirtualBox (Ubuntu for example).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: The most curent.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:35 am
Posts: 35
I have the most current version of virtual Box. I downloaded it about a week or 2 ago. I am not sure as I am at work but I'll let you know when I can. I also was able to install ubuntu 8.04 with no problems. Do remember when installing the Virtual box aditions you must be root user. Also may have to re-install the virtual Box aditions when kernal is updated as it dose make changes to the kernal. I see no reason why UBCD dosen't work in there. I will test it out when I can which may not be till next week as long as I have no problems downloading UBCD V5.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 5:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
@ chris122380
UBCD50 doesn't have problems in a virtual machine. Parted Magic 3.0 does. In the current beta of UBCD5 (UBCD5b4), there is no problem with booting Parted Magic because it is still version 2.2.

I was talking about the new Ubuntu Intrepid (8.10), which is in alpha stage.
See: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/intrepid/+source/linux/+bug/246067 for the booting problems in VirtualBox.
See: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/IntrepidReleaseSchedule for the release schedule of Ubuntu.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Can everyone test the Parted Magic 3.0 image in as many as emulators as possible? Test which parameters you have to add to the standard isolinux boot option.

I tested the following emulators all ready:

Qemu 0.9.1:
Add noeject.

VirtualBox 1.6.2:
Add noreplace-paravirt.

Can someone see, which option works for VMware, Virtual PC, ...?
@ as702: Can you give me the option for VMware?

If your emeulator hangs at the beginning of the boot process, you need to add the noreplace-paravirt option.

If your emulator hangs at the following message:
Code:
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/us.map.gz

you need to add the noeject option.

Add the xforcevesa option if you have display problems.

I need this info so that I can make a config file specific for emelators, so I can post it at the Parted Magic forum.
See: http://partedmagic.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=186


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Posts: 284
Location: FL
Just tried on Virtual PC 2007 and none of the options work, even with the mentioned options/switches added.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 8:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
@ the Piney
Can you try the Safe Graphics Settings (vga=normal) option + the options listed above. Post the error messages that you see.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
VMWare Workstation 6
tried this:

Code:
KERNEL /pmagic/bzImage
APPEND noapic noeject initrd=/pmagic/initrd root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc keymap=us livecd vga=791 sleep=0 quiet ramdisk_size=25000


F&£"* all (-:
gets past the loading bar (decompressing rootfiles) before displaying a blank screen.

then tried:

Code:
KERNEL /pmagic/bzImage
APPEND noapic noeject initrd=/pmagic/initrd root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc keymap=us livecd vga=normal sleep=0 ramdisk_size=25000


seemed to work. this time, it managed to get past the initial hang at point:

Code:
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/us.map.gz


now i just have a command prompt (typing "menu" does nothing). also, VirtualPC is a lost cause.

does this help? or am i doing something wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
I always try the Safe Graphics Settings (vga=normal) option (no splashy). There you can see what Parted Magic is doing.

If you see something like:
Code:
ldconfig: writing of cash data failed

And then file is truncated (don't know the exact message anymore), you have to increase the amount of ram for your emulator.

It must be at least 256MB (according to Patrick Verner (author of Parted Magic)). I always set it to 350MB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
Icecube wrote:
It must be at least 256MB (according to Patrick Verner (author of Parted Magic)). I always set it to 350MB.


That did the trick (went from 256Mb>512Mb). Hungry beast, don't you think? DSL works with ~64Mb. Is there any particular reason why PM needs so much memory?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
I don't know exactly. I think the unpacking of the 7zip file , has something to do with it.
Once it is completely booted it uses only 60MB according to the conky display (right at the desktop).

So "VMWare Workstation 6 " works when you set the noeject option?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
Icecube wrote:
So "VMWare Workstation 6 " works when you set the noeject option?


Exactly as i quoted, yes. I tried upping the virtual memory for VPC2007 but it failed miserably (it crashes the program).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Try for VPC2007:
noeject noreplace-paravirt xforcevesa
Add those parameters first to the fail save option

If it works. Add them to the Safe Graphics Settings (vga=normal) option.

It is not that strange that it won't work in VPC2007, it is a Microsoft product and it designed in the first place to work with different windows versions.
The info at the Microsoft website doesn't even list linux as a supported guest OS.


Last edited by Icecube on Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
Quote:
noeject noreplace-paravirt xforcevesa


Yeah, same thing.

I agree, VPC2007 is shaky with Linux VMachines. Some distributions works, others simply fail.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group