Ultimate Boot CD
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/forums/

Switching between images on UBCD v5
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1574
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:40 am ]
Post subject:  Switching between images on UBCD v5

Since the startup.bat/config.txt has changed, how do you go about pointing to a different DOS image for a program?

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:43 am ]
Post subject: 

viewtopic.php?t=1550

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:13 am ]
Post subject: 

Excuse me, I am an idiot :( it's still early!

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:22 am ]
Post subject: 

Sorry. It's the post 5th or so from the bottom; it explains how to add your own dosapps on the CD using the *.INI file (I assume that's what you were referring to in mention of the startup.bat files).

Edit: If you're asking how to change the host OS from FreeDOS to another DOS-compatible OS, I don't think you can (at least not easily and certainly not with UBCD 5). I'm working on getting a (E)DR-DOS version up and running to compliment FreeDOS, but it's still very much a work in progress at the moment.

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:30 am ]
Post subject: 

What OS were you intending to use?

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 10:40 am ]
Post subject: 

I want to use MSDOS only because when trying to load a disk wiper program it gives me an error recommending I use a MSDOS or PCDOS inage.

Also, the new config.sys doesnt really show me a place to put the set commands so that I dont have to go thru the options one by one.

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:40 am ]
Post subject: 

Hmm...I'll try and get an MS-DOS version on-line (it will take a while though).

Quote:
Also, the new config.sys doesnt really show me a place to put the set commands so that I dont have to go thru the options one by one.

Yeah, it doesn't work like that (-:

Simply delete anything found in /level1/ or /level2/ that you don't agree with (e.g. delete /level2/lfn.cab if you don't want LFN support).

A better way is to configure the /etc/global.set to control how each module behaves...
e.g.
Code:
CDROM_NCFG=1

disables pop-up during boot cycle

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:52 am ]
Post subject: 

Quote:
ASPI_TI=3
ASPI_MODE=4
ASPI_NCFG=1
LFN_TI=3
LFN_NCFG=1
LFN_INSTALL=1
NTFS_TI=3
NTFS_NCFG=1
NTFS_SIZE=4096
CDROM_INSTALL=0
CDROM_TI=3
CDROM_NCFG=1
CDROM_LD=1
CDROM_DRV=T
USB_TI=3
USB_NCFG=1
USB_INSTALL=1
USB_VERBOSE=0
USB_EHCI=1
USB_HOST=1
LPPRD_TI=3
LPPRD_1=NWPRINT1
IDLE_MODE=1
IDLE_TI=3
IDLE_DPMS=0
IDLE_DPMS_TI=3
KEYBRD_INSTALL=1
KEYBRD_KC=US
KEYBRD_NCFG=1
KEYBRD_TI=3
MOUSE_NCFG=1
G_TIMEOUT=3
G_PROFILE=PRINT16
G_FIXPRO=0
G_BYPRO=0
G_NOCFG=1
P_NONICBLD=1

This is what my global.set looks like and I'm still getting all the prompts.

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

Are you still receiving these prompts when selecting UMBPCI (silent) from config.sys? Also, which version of the image are you using?

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:20 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thats the odd part, those options are not available. My options are AUTO, MAX and Clean

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:28 pm ]
Post subject: 

Magimog wrote:
Thats the odd part, those options are not available. My options are AUTO, MAX and Clean

You're right, that is odd! ((-:

It sounds as if you're not using the right image or config.sys has been altered in some way (also make sure you're actually booting into the correct image). You can double check by examining the isolinux menu entries...

Quote:
ubcd/menu/main.cfg


Code:
LABEL -
MENU LABEL UBCD FreeDOS (NwDsk V3.40, R1.32)
TEXT HELP
 FreeDOS boot disk used to run many of the other DOS apps on the UBCD. Revised
 version of Eric Veermans' FreeDOS NwDsk 3.42. Addresses many bug fixes,
 performance enhancements and compatibility issues.
ENDTEXT
KERNEL memdisk
APPEND initrd=/ubcd/images/fdubcd.igz

Make sure the last line points to the relevant image you're attempting to boot.

The image itself should present you with the following menu...
Image

So, check the isolinux menu to ensure the relevant path is set. Check the config.sys file. If this fails, download the image again from here...
viewtopic.php?t=1422

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:36 pm ]
Post subject: 

When i use Freedos I get an error saying it hasnt passed a compatibility check and to use msdos or pcdos...

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

Magimog wrote:
When i use Freedos I get an error saying it hasnt passed a compatibility check and to use msdos or pcdos...


Is this error message emanating from the program you're trying to launch? If so, try launching your program from the command prompt (using FreeDOS) as follows...

Code:
callver 6.20 program.exe


where program.exe is your target program.

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:49 pm ]
Post subject: 

Still gets the same error.. its most likely from the program itself. I CAN get it to run under the msdos image, just with all the popup windows.

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

Magimog wrote:
Still gets the same error.. its most likely from the program itself. I CAN get it to run under the msdos image, just with all the popup windows.


Yeah, I'm only updating FreeDOS at the moment (as mentioned, I'm not familiar with the MS-DOS disk you're referring to). I will be incorporating support for MS-DOS but for now I'm not 100% familiar with the boot disk in question.

Would you mind supplying me with a download so I can take a look at it?

Author:  Magimog [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

I believe it is the latest msdos img from veder.com...

Author:  as702 [ Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:44 pm ]
Post subject: 

Magimog wrote:
I believe it is the latest msdos img from veder.com...

Thanks. I'll take a look at it this weekend and work on an update.

Author:  Magimog [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 7:21 am ]
Post subject: 

Any news on the updated image?

Author:  as702 [ Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:07 am ]
Post subject: 

I managed to get it working with ms-dos successfully; I had to adapt UBCD.BAT and RUNAPP.BAT in order to do so whilst retaining compatibility with FreeDOS. I still need to adjust a couple of modules in readiness for the next update but I aim to get it out the door within the next day or so.

Author:  Magimog [ Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:06 am ]
Post subject: 

Sorry to bug, but have you made any more progress on the image?

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/