It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: UBCD 4.x Fixes/Changes
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Here is a list of fixes/changes I have made to version 4.0:

BOOTDSK1.CFG:
Boot FreeDOS image instead of LZDOS image as application launcher for better compatability:
Renamed dosubcd.igz to lzdos.igz and fdubcd.igz to dosubcd.igz, edit locations in .cfg to reflect changes.

FILESYS2.CFG:
Smart BootManager 3.7.1 - [FIX] Reverted to floppy image, .cbt is not fully tested!

FILESYS3.CFG:
DOS Navigator 6.4.0 - [FIX] Changed initrd from fdubcd.igz to dosubcd.igz.

FILESYS4.CFG:
NTFS4DOS 1.8 - [IDEA] Added Volkov Commander and CTMouse to startup

HDD2.CFG:
ESTest 3.80 (ExcelStor) - [UPDATE] Superceeded by ESTest 4.20, renamed dir estest and edited startup.bat to reflect changes.

HDD3.CFG:
SATA Tool 1.10 (ExcelStor) - [UPDATE] Superceeded by ESFeat 2.10, renamed dir esfeat and edited startup.bat to reflect changes.

HDD4.CFG:
Darik's Boot and Nuke V1.0.7 - [FIX] Booting kernel directly into interactive mode (default)

HDD5.CFG:
HDClone 3.1.12 - [UPDATE] Superceeded by HDClone V3.2.5

MBOARD2.CFG:
Memtest86 3.3 (new update) - [FIX] Booting linux binary directly instead of using floppy image.
Memtest86+ 1.70 - [FIX] Booting linux binary directly instead of using floppy image.
DocMem RAM Diag 3.1beta - [FIX] Launching docmem.exe from FreeDOS image using "no UMB (ultra-defensive)" during bootup.

MBOARD5.CFG:
PC-Config 9.33 - [FIX] Changed initrd from fdubcd.igz to dosubcd.igz.



I haven't yet gone through the all the hdd tools properly but I know of some that don't boot already.

Use this as you see fit.


Last edited by kof94 on Thu May 10, 2007 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1284
Quote:
Smart BootManager 3.7.1 - [FIX] Reverted to floppy image, .cbt is not fully tested!


I resorted to using the CBT because I can't get the floppy version of Smart Boot Manager to work with memdisk. Any tips?

Quote:
Darik's Boot and Nuke V1.0.7 - [FIX] Booting kernel directly into interactive mode


Could you please elaborate?

Quote:
Memtest86 3.3 (new update) - [FIX] Booting linux binary directly instead of using floppy image.
Memtest86+ 1.70 - [FIX] Booting linux binary directly instead of using floppy image.


Could you please elaborate?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 6:52 am
Posts: 2
Speaking about the new UBCD version, there is a problem booting Norton Ghost 8.* floppies.
I tried to make a custom UBCD 4.0, with the same floppy image I used with 3.* versions.
It seems to load fine, up to the Ghost GUI, and then it stops working.
Tested with Ghost 8 & 8.3, on 2 physical machines, and 1 VMWare.
After some more tests, it seems that the problem comes from the memdisk version embedded in the new UBCD.
I tried to add the old memdisk as memdisk0 from the UBCD 3.3, and then the 2 Ghost versions worked!

So I searched memdisk web site.
On UBCD 4.0, the version of memdisk is 3.35.
On memdisk website (http://syslinux.zytor.com/history.php) I read :
Changes in 3.35:
MEMDISK: Turn on EDD support by default.
Changes in 3.36:
MEMDISK: Disable EDD by default on floppy disks. EDD can be enabled with the edd option and disabled with noedd. This (hopefully) should make Ghost work again.

So, it seems the chosen version was the bad one :(

I haven't tried the new memdisk version yet, but FYI, EasyRecovery disk was also having problems booting with 3.35 (and works with old version), so maybe many issues with UBCD 4.0 come from EDD (what does it mean anyway ;)?)

Hope it will help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1284
Thanks for the info! I intend to release an update (V4.01?) once the dust has cleared, probably after two to three weeks. I will make sure memdisk gets updated. Who knows? Maybe syslinux V3.40 would be available by then.

So does the "noedd" option works to boot Ghost with memdisk V3.35?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 9:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 6:52 am
Posts: 2
I didn't tried 3.35 with noedd option, but I just tried 3.36, that have this option disabled by default, and guess what? Ghost works!

So we have :
- memdisk 3.07 (shipped with UBCD3.3) -> ghost works
- memdisk 3.35 (shipped with UBCD4.0) -> ghost (and maybe other disk) crashes on the ghost welcome page
- memdisk 3.36 (current memdisk version, that has the so-called edd option turned off) -> ghost works

So if you plan to release a new version soon, consider upgrading to memdisk 3.36 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Quote:
Smart BootManager 3.7.1 - [FIX] Reverted to floppy image, .cbt is not fully tested!

I resorted to using the CBT because I can't get the floppy version of Smart Boot Manager to work with memdisk. Any tips?


I've had no issues with the floppy image. I'm not quite sure what isn't supposed to work in the .cbt either though. I just saw a random post somewhere stating it wasn't fully tested because the author only required curtain parts to work for him.

Quote:
Darik's Boot and Nuke V1.0.7 - [FIX] Booting kernel directly into interactive mode

Could you please elaborate?


Remove kernel.bzi and initrd.gz from the floppy image. Rename them dban.bzi and dban.gz. place them in your boot folder then execute the default boot option from the syslinux.cfg in the floppy image, appending the new paths and editing the file names.

Code:
LABEL dban
    MENU LABEL Darik's Boot and Nuke V1.0.7
    KERNEL /boot/dban.bzi
    APPEND initrd=/boot/dban.gz root=/dev/ram0 init=/rc nuke="dwipe" silent


Quote:
Memtest86 3.3 (new update) - [FIX] Booting linux binary directly instead of using floppy image.
Memtest86+ 1.70 - [FIX] Booting linux binary directly instead of using floppy image.


Could you please elaborate?


Download the linux binary packages from the two web sites, memtest86-3.3.tar.gz and memtest86+-1.70.zip.
Find the compiled binaries in those packages. In the Memtest86 package it's called precomp.bin and in the Memtest86+ package its called memtest86+-1.70.bin. Rename these files what ever you like but remove the bin extention. Then just execute them like a Windows boot sector.

Code:
LABEL memtest
    MENU LABEL Memtest86 V3.3
    KERNEL /boot/memtest
    APPEND -
LABEL memtestp
    MENU LABEL Memtest86+ V1.70
    KERNEL /boot/memtestp
    APPEND -


Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 3:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Just posting to applaud you Victor on the 4.1.0 release.

It seams you have implemented nearly all my suggestions, thank you.

I was quite dumb struck when none of them reached the 4.0 final release so I never posted the rest of my findings. For this I apologise unreservedly :oops:.

That aside, I have a few observations to get you started with your next release.

Seagate's DiskWizard app has been updated. Same as MaxBlast 5.0 but for Seagate drives (can't see why they did that?).

Every machine I've tried Western's Data Lifeguard Tools on (currently 11.2) fails to boot. Possibly a memdisk problem.

DocMem doesn't boot. I've tried every memdisk argument going but just doesn't want to play. Again I've tried this on multiple machines.

The original images for ViVARD and CopyWipe can be booted via memdisk with either the raw or bigraw arguments (if you created them in windows). Not a biggie but worth knowing!

Salavation HDD Scan & Repair boots with heavy graphical corruption. Again, probably a memdisk issue.

I also have a request/suggestion which I implement anyway.

Would you consider adding back the option to press tab to edit the boot commands.

The default text, I agree, is ugly but can be easily hidden from view at the bottom of the screen with a few simple settings.

Well thats it and thank you again for this excellent release :wink: .

-kof94


Last edited by kof94 on Wed May 09, 2007 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 7:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1284
Quote:
I was quite dumb struck when none of them reached the 4.0 final release so I never posted the rest of my findings. For this I apologise unreservedly


I think there was some timing issue. By the time I got to your message, I have already release V4.0 final. Sorry about that.

Quote:
Seagate's DiskWizard app has been updated. Same as MaxBlast 5.0 but for Seagate drives (can't see why they did that?).


Thanks! I will make a note of it for V4.2.

Quote:
Every machine I've tried Western's Data Lifeguard Tools on (currently 11.2) fails to boot. Possibly a memdisk problem.

DocMem doesn't boot. I've tried every memdisk argument going but just doesn't want to play. Again I've tried this on multiple machines.


I assume you have tried "raw" and "bigraw" already?

Quote:
The default text, I agree, is ugly but can be easily hidden from view at the bottom of the screen with a few simple settings.


Could you show me your implementation? Want to see what those "simple settings" are! :D

Quote:
Well thats it and thank you again for this excellent release


Thank YOU for your excellent suggestions. It's a learning process for me as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Quote:
Quote:
I was quite dumb struck when none of them reached the 4.0 final release so I never posted the rest of my findings. For this I apologise unreservedly


I think there was some timing issue. By the time I got to your message, I have already release V4.0 final. Sorry about that.


Figured that, I wont be so hasty next time :wink: .

Quote:
Quote:
Every machine I've tried Western's Data Lifeguard Tools on (currently 11.2) fails to boot. Possibly a memdisk problem.

DocMem doesn't boot. I've tried every memdisk argument going but just doesn't want to play. Again I've tried this on multiple machines.


I assume you have tried "raw" and "bigraw" already?


And safeint, still no go. If only they'd release a binary like memdisk/+.

Quote:
Quote:
The default text, I agree, is ugly but can be easily hidden from view at the bottom of the screen with a few simple settings.


Could you show me your implementation? Want to see what those "simple settings" are! Very Happy


As you wish...

Code:
MENU TITLE Ultimate Boot CD V4.1.0                        http://www.ultimatebootcd.com
PROMPT 0

MENU margin 0
MENU rows 19
MENU tabmsgrow 24
MENU cmdlinerow 24

####################################
# If you wanted a timer in the blank space on boot
# to give it purpose, keep the next line.
# (Requires additional config file)
MENU timeoutrow 24
####################################

MENU COLOR border 37;44 #40000000 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR title 1;33;44 #c00090f0 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR scrollbar 37;44 #40000000 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR cmdmark 37;40 #ffffffff #00000000 none
MENU COLOR tabmsg 30;40 #00000000 #00000000 none

####################################
# Colours for timer.
# Delete or rem next two lines if not required.
MENU COLOR timeout_msg 37;40 #ffffffff #00000000 none
MENU COLOR timeout 31;40 #f0d60000 #00000000 none
####################################


Hope this helps


Last edited by kof94 on Wed May 09, 2007 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Another observation.

I still can't find anything wrong with using the original Smart Boot Manager image.

I personally will be replacing the .cbt for it but it's up to you.

Also when adding Seagate's new DiscWizard app (Acronis True Image in disguise) don't forget to add the "Recovery Manager" folder for those who use it. This may be the case for MaxBlast as well so I'm not quite sure what to do there.

-kof94


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 5:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1284
Thanks for the code. I will add that to the next major release.

Quote:
I still can't find anything wrong with using the original Smart Boot Manager image.

I personally will be replacing the .cbt for it but it's up to you.


OK, I will check that in the next major release too.

Quote:
Also when adding Seagate's new DiscWizard app (Acronis True Image in disguise) don't forget to add the "Recovery Manager" folder for those who use it. This may be the case for MaxBlast as well so I'm not quite sure what to do there.


Any idea what you need that folder for? I don't have a Maxtor or Seagate disk (I use WD), so I can't check. But I remember the integration for Acronis TrueImage didn't need that folder at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Quote:
Thanks for the code. I will add that to the next major release.


Thanks. I have to admit that UBCD does go through some modding with me since I integrate it with my own project. Don't worry I don't try to pass it off as my own but merely add an option to my main menu for it.

I prefer to mod as little as possible since I feel it kind of detracts from the original project. Hence why I'm posting fixes and possible changes! :wink:

Quote:
Quote:
Also when adding Seagate's new DiscWizard app (Acronis True Image in disguise) don't forget to add the "Recovery Manager" folder for those who use it. This may be the case for MaxBlast as well so I'm not quite sure what to do there.


Any idea what you need that folder for? I don't have a Maxtor or Seagate disk (I use WD), so I can't check. But I remember the integration for Acronis TrueImage didn't need that folder at all.


I mainly use Seagate drives but I haven't yet taken look at the new boot media.

However, I have used Acronis True Image and the Recover Manager folder is required for adding or removing the boot time recovery options i.e if you use secure zone you need it. Works a bit like Symantec's Go Back prog, if that helps.

I'm not sure if MaxBlast 5 has this option as well. If so, you could encounter some problems i.e you wont be able to have two Recovery Manger folders. If I had to choose (and I sort of already have) I'd just go with DiscWizard. The Maxtor brand name will eventually fade out due to assimilation anyway!

-kof94


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1284
Quote:
However, I have used Acronis True Image and the Recover Manager folder is required for adding or removing the boot time recovery options i.e if you use secure zone you need it. Works a bit like Symantec's Go Back prog, if that helps.


I finally have time to sit down with this while working on the next release of UBCD. It seems like the "Recovery Manager" folder is required for activating Recovery Manager so that it will come up when you next boot the HDD. However it is not really required for secure zone, since you will still be able to recover from the secure zone if you have already boot up the rescue CD.

As such, I don't think I will be adding the Recovery Manager folder to the UBCD, since IMHO it is not really critical, and could be left as a customization exercise.

Please let me know if you think I am wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
To be honest it doesn't work for me anyway. Both MaxBlast and DiskWizard (which are really the same thing now :roll: ) cause any machine I use them on to reboot.

Funny really considering I never had problems with Acronis TrueImage 9.

Anyway, nice to see your back on the case, saves me trawling for updates before adding UBCD to my project :wink: .

Whilst we're on the subject... don't use any newer version of menu.c32 than you use already. The current ones break your full screen menu!

Also, here is my current defaults.cfg for UBCD which gives the user a little more freedom to troubleshoot etc.

Code:
MENU TITLE Ultimate Boot CD V4.1.1                        http://www.ultimatebootcd.com
PROMPT 0

MENU margin 0
MENU rows 19
MENU tabmsgrow 24
MENU cmdlinerow 24

MENU COLOR border 37;44 #40000000 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR title 1;33;44 #c00090f0 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR scrollbar 37;44 #40000000 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR cmdmark 37;40 #ffffffff #00000000 none
MENU COLOR tabmsg 30;40 #00000000 #00000000 none


It does leave you with a free row at the bottom of the screen but I prefer having tab and esc available and this is the best compromise I could think of!
-kof94


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1284
Quote:
Whilst we're on the subject... don't use any newer version of menu.c32 than you use already. The current ones break your full screen menu!


Thanks! I found that out when trying to update to syslinux 3.52. I will retain the current version of menu.c32, but update isolinux/syslinux/memdisk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Victor Chew wrote:
Quote:
Whilst we're on the subject... don't use any newer version of menu.c32 than you use already. The current ones break your full screen menu!


Thanks! I found that out when trying to update to syslinux 3.52. I will retain the current version of menu.c32, but update isolinux/syslinux/memdisk.


That's exactly what I did.

I think the problem with the current version stems from the new help text feature. I use vesamenu for my menu system and it causes the same problem.

I've been meaning to put a post up on the syslinux mailing list but I haven't got around to it yet.

One last thing... this is purely cosmetic but you might want to change it.

I noticed a small mistake in the startup.bat for vivard...

Code:
cls
%RAMDRV%
mkdir \hutil
cd \hutil
xcopy %UBCDDRV%\dosapps\vivard\*.* > nul
vivard


Very little will happen if you run hutil and vivard one after the other but in the spirit of this nitpicking thread I thought I'd better bring it to your attention :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
@Victor

I've fixed the issue with the current menu.c32 cutting the bottom of the menu off. In short you just need to push the 'helpmsgrow' of the screen.

Here is a revised UBCD menu for you:

Code:
MENU TITLE Ultimate Boot CD V4.1.1                      http://www.ultimatebootcd.com
PROMPT 0

MENU margin 1
MENU rows 19
MENU tabmsgrow 24
MENU cmdlinerow 24
MENU vshift 1
MENU helpmsgrow 25

MENU COLOR border 37;44 #40000000 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR title 1;33;44 #c00090f0 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR scrollbar 37;44 #40000000 #00000000 std
MENU COLOR cmdmark 37;40 #ffffffff #00000000 none

MENU tabmsg


I've also included a black border around the main window. I did this because of my preference for enabling tab to edit options. You can remove it if you want to.

In relation to this there is supposed to be a space after the line 'MENU tabmsg' to hide the 'press [tab] to edit options' message.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
@Victor

Would you consider copying all dosapps into RAM when launched by startup.bat?

The reason I ask is it makes life alot easier when your trying to run utils on multiple machines from the same disk e.g. launching HDDErase on three machines.

I know this is easily achieved manually but for the sake of convenience please consider this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1284
Quote:
Would you consider copying all dosapps into RAM when launched by startup.bat?


The only consideration is the size of the RAM disk will have to be increased (64MB? 128MB?), and this means UBCD won't be able to boot on machines with lesser RAM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:28 pm
Posts: 85
Sorry, may be I should have worded that better.

I didn't mean that I wanted all the apps in RAM at the same time, just the relevant app you select (e.g. Testdisk).

I decided to start making a variant from the 'dosapps' idea for my current project using zip files that are extracted to ram as and when you need them.

This works quite well because you can remove the disk when ever you want and still use your selected app and it cuts down on the size of the disk.

I'm not quite finished with the whole implementation yet but this could be a good idea for UBCD.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group