It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
@ as702
Do all options work in "VMWare Workstation 6 " when you add the noeject option? Or does only the Safe Graphics Settings (vga=normal) option work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
All options, Icecube.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Posts: 289
Location: FL
Icecube wrote:
@ the Piney
Can you try the Safe Graphics Settings (vga=normal) option + the options listed above. Post the error messages that you see.


I did that, it did get further but didn't write down the error, will rerun a bit later tonite..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
@ everyone who has Virtual PC, follow the suggestions from Jotnar.
Jotnar at the Parted Magic forum wrote:
I have a multiboot disc so I usually use the PXE release just because it was just easier to multiboot than the livecd release. It looks like the 3.0 release of the PXE version was bugged, but the first release in beef_drapes after 3.0 (28July) booted fine with no errors using the noreplace-paravirt option. The funky video can be solved by killing X (CTRL-ALT-BKSPACE) and then running the PartedMagic menu and selecting a 16bit color depth. It has to do with the newer X versions detecting VirtualPC's adapter as true 24bit when it in fact only sorta works in 24bit mode. You can also just do a console boot and get to the menu from there.

To download the beefdrape of Parted Magic (try the iso version):
http://partedmagic.com/beef_drapes/

Let me know if it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
i'll try it later this evening and post the results (i'll also get that bcdw2.01a disc sent to you as promised yesterday).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 12:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
still doesn't work )-:

Code:
KERNEL /pmagic/bzImage
APPEND noapic noeject noreplace-paravirt xforcevesa initrd=/pmagic/initrd root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc keymap=us livecd vga=normal sleep=0 acpi=off noapic nolapic nopcmcia noscsi nogpm consoleboot nosmart ramdisk_size=25000



Image[/img]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 1:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Have you downloaded the beef drape version? Use the last version of VPC, maybe it solves some bugs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
i tried downloading both iso versions, but they were reported as corrupt (unexpected end of archive).

)-:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 10:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
Probably, Patrick is uploading a new version.
Or it can be that there are problems with his hosting provider.

If I go to the forums sometimes, I don't always get the page correctly. Sometimes it offers to download an save the file ( some .php fiel), which is empty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
Icecube wrote:
Probably, Patrick is uploading a new version.
Or it can be that there are problems with his hosting provider.

If I go to the forums sometimes, I don't always get the page correctly. Sometimes it offers to download an save the file ( some .php fiel), which is empty.


not sure. i get a proper "Index of /beef_drapes" apache directory thing-a-me wotsit. both files i tried were ~45Mb once download.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 1:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
A new beef drape version of Parted Magic is available.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
thanks. i'll give it s shot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 3:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1259
I was able to get PM3 to work on both VMWare V6.0.2 and VPC2007 6.0.156.

I global-search-and-replace both isolinux.cfg and syslinux.cfg:

Find: ramdisk_size=25000
Replace: ramdisk_size=38400 noeject

VPC only work with the "Alternate graphical server" option. With "Default settings", the final GUI does not display correctly.

VMWare works with all settings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
The: ramdisk_size shouldn't be changed. because this size for the ramdisk is only needed for unpacking the initrd of Parted Magic 3.0. In the previous version of Parted Magic you had to increase the ramdisk size if you add the anitvirus 7z archives that I had made. Can you try it again with ramdisk_size=25000? It should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
downloaded. tried all modes including:

Code:
KERNEL /pmagic/bzImage
APPEND noapic initrd=/pmagic/initrd root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc keymap=us livecd vga=791 sleep=0 quiet tmpfs_size=180M ramdisk_size=25000 noeject noreplace-paravirt


no joy. can i have my bandwidth traffic back?

q:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:34 pm
Posts: 10
I was having inconsistancies between two different machines with PM 3 and VirtualPC 2007. One thing I noticed while digging around was that I had the CPU hardware visrtualization extensions enabled on one box ond not on the other. If you can, you might want to change that setting and see if it affects the results at all.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
Thanks. I'll give it a shot later this evening.

Edit: Hardware virtualisation(?) on my box is greyed-out (vpc2007). Sorry.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1259
@Icecube

Quote:
The: ramdisk_size shouldn't be changed. because this size for the ramdisk is only needed for unpacking the initrd of Parted Magic 3.0. In the previous version of Parted Magic you had to increase the ramdisk size if you add the anitvirus 7z archives that I had made. Can you try it again with ramdisk_size=25000? It should work.


Thanks! "ramdisk_size=25000 noeject" works as you predicted in both VMWare and VPC.

Also works on a real machine as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group