It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dell Diag v13xx
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 1:00 am
Posts: 3
Location: Norway
Hi, i know this might be too much to ask for, but the 12xx diag series from dell are getting old now. so I'm trying to get the diag called 1337 to boot from ubcd. Here is the compability list:
    Inspiron 1420
    Inspiron 1525
    Inspiron 1526
    Inspiron 1720
    Inspiron 1721
    Latitude D530
    Latitude D531
    Latitude D631
    Latitude D430
    Latitude XFR D630
    Latitude XT
    Latitude ATG D630
    Latitude D630
    Latitude D830
    Dell Precision WorkStation 390
    Dell Precision WorkStation 490
    Dell Precision WorkStation 690
    Latitude D630c
    OptiPlex 330
    OptiPlex 745
    OptiPlex 755
    Dell Precision Mobile WorkStation M2300
    Dell Precision Mobile WorkStation M6300
    Dell Precision WorkStation T5400
    Dell Precision WorkStation T7400
    Studio Laptop 1535
    Studio Laptop 1536
    Studio Laptop 1735
    Vostro Desktop 200
    Vostro Desktop 400
    Vostro Desktop 410
    Vostro Notebook 1000
    Vostro Notebook 1200
    Vostro Notebook 1310
    Vostro Notebook 1400
    Vostro Notebook 1500
    Vostro Notebook 1510
    Vostro Notebook 1700
    Vostro Notebook 1710
    Vostro Notebook Dell 500
    Dell Precision Mobile WorkStation M4300
    XPS M1730
    XPS M1330
    XPS M1530

so to the core... Has anybody done this? And if so, anybody wanna share how they did it?

What I wanna do is to add most of the dell 13xx diags in ubcd, cus I'm doing service on all dell's laptops and desktops.

note: You can get the 1337 diag from here

Edit: tried using this guide, but it hangs after loading the image
Edit: Moved this post, I see there are some posts bout this (but not this version)
Edit: found some more stuff bout this on this forums, but it all gets so messy that I cant understand the end results


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dell Diag v13xx
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:45 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Molde, Norway
ictech wrote:
Edit: tried using this guide, but it hangs after loading the image


I had the same problems as you with that guide. I tried this guide, and that worked fine for me.

To save space in the ISO file I also ZIP'ed down all the files into the directory and used this startup.bat file to unzip them into the ramdrive:
Code:
cd \dosapps\dell1337
mkdir %RAMDRV%\dell1337
pkunzip dell1337.zip %RAMDRV%\dell1337\
%RAMDRV%
cd dell1337
delldiag.com

In other words, my /dosapps/dell1337/ directory now only contains this startup.bat file, pkunzip.exe and dell1337.zip with the Dell Diagnostics files.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
Out of curiosity, how large are the dell diagnostic tools? Would it be worth integrating them in the UBCD 5 distribution???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 1:00 am
Posts: 3
Location: Norway
well I guess they are bout 3 floppy's big (3x1,44 MB) I don't have any of the files here, but I'll see if I can write some more bout this when I can get my files again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Posts: 284
Location: FL
The CD ISO image "On Disk size" is "8,830,976 bytes"

The Hard Drive PXE image "On Disk Size" is "4,644,864 bytes"

The DIAGS folder from the download is "3,710,976 bytes" On disk size..

I don't have any Dell's to test with but my previous builds worked in a VirtualBox for me, however, others posted that it was not working for them so I'll hold off on trying this myself...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:14 am
Posts: 276
Thanks. Sounds promising. In theory, I don't see why it should be a problem to archive these files and include them in UBCD. It might be worth requesting this feature to Victor in the UBCD 5 forum(?).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 1:00 am
Posts: 3
Location: Norway
Well I'm back with all my stuff, the sizes that The Piney talks bout sounds right. When i was in this situation where i needed to put these images together on one stick I could not get it to work with ubcd, but I made a bootable stick (win 98) with grub for dos and I did get it to work perfectly on the machines it was made for. You can see the "menu.lst" i made and it should give you an idea of how this works:
Code:
default=0
timeout=30
root=(hd0,0)
color cyan/blue white/blue

title DellDiag 1318
   kernel /kernels/memdisk
   initrd /images/1318.img
   
title DellDiag 1320
   kernel /kernels/memdisk
   initrd /images/1320.img
   
title DellDiag 1322
   kernel /kernels/memdisk
   initrd /images/1322.img
   
title DellDiag 1337
   kernel /kernels/memdisk
   initrd /images/1337.img

title DellDiag 1340
   kernel /kernels/memdisk
   initrd /images/1340.img

title Back to dos
savedefault --wait=2
quit

title Reboot
savedefault --wait=2
reboot


the reason i used grub for dos is that i need to use apps like "asset" to set the serial numbers on dell machines.

questions are welcome!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:34 pm
Posts: 10
You can also zip the disk images to reduce the size a little. The easiest thing to do is create the bootable image and use memdisk to boot that. Works perfectly every time. You can do the same with the Dell Server Diagnostics.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:41 pm
Posts: 1
Do you guys know if this will work even though i've deleted my recovery partition?
When I run the pre-boot assessment at the end it gives an error about how the partition doesnt exist..?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group