It is currently Mon Sep 15, 2014 11:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Supported floppy image files
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Posts: 296
Location: FL
Hello, I've done a few searches on the problem I'm having and keep finding the same post, which don't quite answer my question.

I want to include some boot disks (ie - DOS 6.2, Win95, Win98, etc.) I converted the image files to .img and edited the costum.cfg file with:

LABEL dos62
MENU LABEL DOS 6.2 BOOT DISK
KERNAL memdisk
APPEND initrd=/custom/dos62.img
LABEL w95_org
MENU LABEL Win 95 Original
KERNAL memdisk
APPEND initrd=/custom/w95_org.img
LABEL w95osr2
MENU LABEL Win 95 OSR2
KERNAL memdisk
APPEND initrd=/custom/w95osr2.img
LABEL w98
MENU LABEL Win 98
KERNAL memdisk
APPEND initrd=/custom/w98.img
LABEL w98se
MENU LABEL Win 98 Second Edition
KERNAL memdisk
APPEND initrd=/custom/w98se.img
LABEL winme
MENU LABEL Win ME Boot Disk
KERNAL memdisk
APPEND initrd=/custom/winme.img


When I select these to boot, I just get directed back to the main menu..

I've included the DSL linux and Recovery Console using the tutorials and they work with no problem in Virtual Box

I see posts regarding the raw command/switch for memdisk and I'm not sure if that's all I need.

Also I would like to update the hdclone.igz in the images directory and I'm not sure if I can just put the .img file in place of the .igz file..

TIA

The Piney


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 5:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1287
Quote:
I want to include some boot disks (ie - DOS 6.2, Win95, Win98, etc.) I converted the image files to .img and edited the costum.cfg file with:


DOS should work, but I am not so sure with Win9x.

For DOS, check that your .img file is exactly 1,474,560 bytes.

Quote:
Also I would like to update the hdclone.igz in the images directory and I'm not sure if I can just put the .img file in place of the .igz file..


Yes you can. .igz is simply .img compressed with gzip.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:06 am
Posts: 296
Location: FL
Duh me... Check out the KERNAL statement... lol... was driving me nuts until I checked.. Should be KERNEL... I put the raw in after the image and nothing and tried floppy which I saw on a Live CD .cfg file..

All working fine now - floppy and raw both work whem placed after the *.img...

So far I've added puppy linux, System Rescue CD, DSL and Parted Magic all seem to be working fine as well as all the boot floppies - DOS and 9x versions... The Live CDs were starting to make the Custom menu a bit long so I added another menu under DOS/Linux boot disks called Live CDs - thinking about adding another sub-menu for each Live CD so each option can be listed without taking up 2 or more pages..

Thanks for the info on replacing the igz with a img file...will an .imz file work as well? I'll probably try putting one in just to see later tonite or early AM..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Tried using RAW but still unable to boot from image
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 8:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:19 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Singapore
Hi Victor,
Thanks for the great work first of all. I've always been looking for a solution to replace all these floppies I have.
I've tried using a DOS 6.0 and Win 98 boot image to start a NetCopy Programme but I've been getting error messages from Non -system disk to image unreadable.
Do I have any other options? I've used Floppy Image.exe to create the images and they seem fine

DETAILS:

Loading /custom/d325.img .........
Ready
MEMDISK 3.36 2007-02-10 Copyright
e820 : .......


Ramdisk at 0x0fe6700, length 0x00168400
Command line: initrd=/custom/d325.img raw BOOT_IMAGE=memdisk
MEMDISK: Image seems to have fractional end cylinder
Disk is hard disk 0, 1441K C/H/S= 0/122/37, EDD on
Using raw access to high memory
Total size needed= 2328bytes, allocating 3K
Old dos memory at 0x9fc00 (map says 0x9fc00), loading as 0x9f000
1588: 0xfff 15E801: 0x3c00 0x0ee6
INT 13 08: Success, count= 1, BPT=0000:0000
old: int 12= f00096f4 int 15= f000f859
new: int 9f000008 in 15= 9f000376

Loading boot sector....booting....

Non-system disk or disk error.
Press any key to .......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
Posts: 1287
Quote:
MEMDISK: Image seems to have fractional end cylinder


Seems like the floppy image is incorrect, so it is mounted as a HDD image instead.

Make sure the uncompressed image size is EXACTLY 1,474,560 bytes, otherwise it is the wrong format.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:28 pm
Posts: 1
Hello,
Following along in this thread, after correcting the floppy image size problem that stung teotonio, I'm stuck here:

Disk is floppy 0, 1440 K, C/H/S = 80/2/18, EDD off
Using raw access to high memory
Total size needed = 2330 bytes, allocating 3K
Old dos memory at 0x9fc00 (map says 0x9fc00), loading at 0x9f000
1588: 0xffff 15E801: 0x3c00 0x0e66
INT 13 08: Success, count = 1, BPT = f000:6da4
old: int13 = f0008ca4 int15 = f000f859
new: int13 = 9f000008 int15 = 9f000376
Loading boot sector... booting...
Non-System disk or disk error
Replace and strike any key when ready

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:24 am
Posts: 4
Has there been a solution to this problem?

Quote:
Hello,
Following along in this thread, after correcting the floppy image size problem that stung teotonio, I'm stuck here:

(...)

Loading boot sector... booting...
Non-System disk or disk error
Replace and strike any key when ready


Since I am stuck at the same problem too. The help that I found in the FAQ from http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/faq.html did not help either:

Quote:
Question: I was getting a bunch of "non-system disk or disk error" messages when I was trying to boot certain DOS floppy images. What's wrong?

For certain machines, you need to enable the floppy drive in the BIOS for memdisk to work properly. For these machines, if you set the floppy drive in the BIOS to "None", you will get the above error message.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group