It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:48 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WD idle time change on second ata drive
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 6:20 am
Posts: 2
I have a laptop with two WD drives: /dev/sda with vista and /dev/sdb with fedora 11.
I have an exe to change idle time of WD harddrive in ubcd. I have added this exe in custom.. booted to freedos and ran this exe which executes for the /dev/sda (vista) drive. ( I know it is /dev/sda because the exe prints out the serial no)

How do I get this exe to be executed for the second drive /dev/sdb(f11)?
I see that ldir -s/dev/sdb can print my fedora directory. any ideas?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: WD idle time change on second ata drive
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 1:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 454
Location: California, USA
numbercruncher wrote:
I have a laptop with two WD drives: /dev/sda with vista and /dev/sdb with fedora 11.
I have an exe to change idle time of WD harddrive in ubcd. I have added this exe in custom.. booted to freedos and ran this exe which executes for the /dev/sda (vista) drive. ( I know it is /dev/sda because the exe prints out the serial no)

How do I get this exe to be executed for the second drive /dev/sdb(f11)?
I see that ldir -s/dev/sdb can print my fedora directory. any ideas?

Thanks


If its not dependent on the second drive even being attached, unplug the first drive or change the boot order (serial ata [SATA] allows you to choose which drive is primary/secondary, if your drives arent SATA wont be able to change the primary/secondary and would be easier to remove the first drive) in bios and run it again.

_________________
~Just StopSpazzing~

Visit the UBCD Wiki: http://wiki.ultimatebootcd.com
Please check your UBCD ISO MD5 Hash Sum; May prevent issues later on by not having an exact copy.

Currently Working on Common Issues and Repair Tips on the Wiki.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 6:20 am
Posts: 2
Yes it is SATA Tried changing the boot sequence of the drives in bios. Then I figured that the exe prints only the first drive info but does change the values on both the drives.
But I need different values for each drive. So the inevitable opening of the back of the laptop is my only option. Thanks for the quick response


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 9:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 454
Location: California, USA
You're very welcome. Wish they made it selectable and not just assume both drives should get the same values. You may want to request WD to change it.

_________________
~Just StopSpazzing~

Visit the UBCD Wiki: http://wiki.ultimatebootcd.com
Please check your UBCD ISO MD5 Hash Sum; May prevent issues later on by not having an exact copy.

Currently Working on Common Issues and Repair Tips on the Wiki.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group