It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: bash.exe memory problem?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am
Posts: 51
Hello,

I have an EXE created with Bat to EXE Converter 1.5 http://download.cnet.com/Bat-To-Exe-Converter/3000-2069_4-10555897.html which launches a few batch scripts and menus. All works fine, except anything having to do with UBCD scripts (uncd2iso also). See below.

Code:
C:\UB\UBCD\files\ubcd\tools\win32\antivirus>call avira.cmd
C:\UB\UBCD\files\ubcd\tools\win32\unxutils\bin\bash.exe: *** Couldn't reserve sp
ace for cygwin's heap, Win32 error 0
Terminate batch job (Y/N)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bash.exe memory problem?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am
Posts: 51
Here's a more detailed grab

Code:
Updating Avira definitions...
      0 [main] us 0 init_cheap: VirtualAlloc pointer is null, Win32 error 487
AllocationBase 0x0, BaseAddress 0x71110000, RegionSize 0x450000, State 0x10000
C:\UB\UBCD\files\ubcd\tools\win32\unxutils\bin\bash.exe: *** Couldn't reserve sp
ace for cygwin's heap, Win32 error 0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bash.exe memory problem?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:37 pm
Posts: 462
Location: California, USA
If you read the reviews on the program you are using, people say it sometimes works for something and doesn't for others. It's the programs problem not "bash.exe".

_________________
~Just StopSpazzing~

Visit the UBCD Wiki: http://wiki.ultimatebootcd.com
Please check your UBCD ISO MD5 Hash Sum; May prevent issues later on by not having an exact copy.

Currently Working on Common Issues and Repair Tips on the Wiki.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bash.exe memory problem?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am
Posts: 51
I really doubt it is, since the exe only does a cd and then start "batchfile.bat". I've used a few other programs with the same result.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bash.exe memory problem?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1278
I just tried Bat to EXE Converter 1.5 on the avira.cmd script.
When I checked "Add decompiler" the generated avira.exe didn't have any heap problems with bash.

i don't know if it fully works. It downloaded the file with wget and so, but some of the other commands didn't get executed like they should (wrong path names).
I tested the converter and the avira.exe in wine on Linux.
Quote:
Linux ==> WINE (Windows compatibility layer for Linux/...) ==> avira.exe (compiled batch script) which probably will run cmd.exe of WINE for executing the batch file ==> running bash (cygwin binary: Linux API emulation layer providing substantial Linux API functionality)

I think the WINE ==> bash step doesn't work (when tried alone), and messes the pathnames up.

_________________
Download Ultimate Boot CD v5.0: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/download.html
Use Parted Magic for handling all partitioning task: http://partedmagic.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bash.exe memory problem?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:22 am
Posts: 51
Make sure "current path" is selected in Bat to Exe Converter, otherwise it uses %temp%


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group