Customisation nightmares :(

Try looking for help here if you are having problems with the Ultimate Boot CD.

Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing

johnnysmooth

Customisation nightmares :(

#1 Post by johnnysmooth » Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:14 am

Hi there,

I'm new to ubcd and the whole customisation process. I've read many really informative posts but have not found clear answers to a couple of basic questions that arose when trying to add a filemanager and an HD identify program to the cd. Would anyone be able to help a newbie?

1. What is a good file manager I can use?

2. Do I really need to use boot images, or can I just use .exe's? If the latter, how can I make these automatically load from the cd? (I tried using exe's but for some reason the cd only dropped me down to the dos prompt but did not execute the accompanying batch file I wrote to launch the program.)

3. How do I change the .scn file to reflect my customisations? I have seen info on how to do this, but it was not clear what to do if working with exe's. (Do I have to specify the exact path to the image/exe? What would such an instruction look like?)

I'd be really grateful for the benefit of someone's expertise! :)

Thanks

Victor Chew

#2 Post by Victor Chew » Wed Jan 31, 2007 4:38 am

1. What is a good file manager I can use?
Type "vc" at the DOS prompt.
2. Do I really need to use boot images, or can I just use .exe's? If the latter, how can I make these automatically load from the cd? (I tried using exe's but for some reason the cd only dropped me down to the dos prompt but did not execute the accompanying batch file I wrote to launch the program.)