XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Moderators: Icecube, StopSpazzing
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
aen007, Victor Chew and others have complained about that XFPROT can't detect the version of the recent f-prot.
(One of the previous post: viewtopic.php?p=24072#p24072)
I made a post in this thread about my quick analysis. And now I made a quick fix to the code in case someone likes to test it.
Patch file (in unified diff format):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... tect.patch
(One of the previous post: viewtopic.php?p=24072#p24072)
I made a post in this thread about my quick analysis. And now I made a quick fix to the code in case someone likes to test it.
Patch file (in unified diff format):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... tect.patch
Last edited by Explorer09 on Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 1368
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
If you follow the original post, it seems like there is more to it after hacking the version number check:
I hacked around that as well, and got Xfprot working. Yes, it scans, however the commandline parameters for f-prot's 'fpscan' seem to have changed and Xprot does not control it properly. For example, archives are scanned even though the checkbox to do so is not ticked. Scanning is only down about 4 directory levels and Xfprot offers no way to change that. And so on.
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Yes, I read that already, but I don't have time to fix all of these bugs for now.
The only thing I can do for now is to make sure it can run with the new f-prot version, no matter how 'buggy' it would be.
Also, I can set up a (forked) repo on my GitHub page if people want to hunt for XFPROT bugs.
The only thing I can do for now is to make sure it can run with the new f-prot version, no matter how 'buggy' it would be.
Also, I can set up a (forked) repo on my GitHub page if people want to hunt for XFPROT bugs.
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Here are the signatures I've collected so far.
(See also the official release notes and release dates)
[F-Prot 6.0.2 (included in UBCD 5.0.3)]
[F-Prot 6.0.3 (included in UBCD 5.1.1)]
[F-Prot 6.1.0]
(Thanks to a Chinese download site so I can get this old version.)
[F-Prot 6.1.1]
(Unknown, if people have this version please let me know the signatures.)
[F-Prot 6.2.0]
[F-Prot 6.2.1, 6.2.2, and 6.2.3] (Updated 2013-02-04)
(See also the official release notes and release dates)
[F-Prot 6.0.2 (included in UBCD 5.0.3)]
Code: Select all
F-PROT Antivirus version 6.2.1.4252 (built: 2008-04-28T16-44-10)
Engine version: 4.4.4.56
F-PROT Antivirus Signature Updater version 1.0.1
Package version 6.0.2
Engine version 4.4.56.4
Code: Select all
F-PROT Antivirus version 6.3.3.5015 (built: 2009-12-23T13-43-55)
Engine version: 4.5.1.85
F-PROT Antivirus Signature Updater version 1.0.1
Package version 6.0.2
Engine version: 4.5.85.1
(Thanks to a Chinese download site so I can get this old version.)
Code: Select all
F-PROT Antivirus CLS version 6.5.1.5418, 32bit (built: 2010-09-10T17-02-09)
Engine version: 4.6.2.117
F-PROT Antivirus Signature Updater version 1.0.4
Package version 6.1.0
(Unknown, if people have this version please let me know the signatures.)
[F-Prot 6.2.0]
Code: Select all
F-PROT Antivirus CLS version 6.7.10.6229, 32bit (built: 2012-02-21T12-33-46)
Engine version: 4.6.5.141
F-PROT Antivirus Signature Updater version 1.0.4
Package version 6.1.0
Code: Select all
F-PROT Antivirus CLS version 6.7.10.6267, 32bit (built: 2012-03-27T12-34-14)
Engine version: 4.6.5.141
F-PROT Antivirus Signature Updater version 1.0.5
Package version 6.2.1
Last edited by Explorer09 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
My fix is working, I just tested it.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... tect.patch
Victor, could you (or someone else) tell me how do I compile this and make a package for UBCD and Parted Magic?
I fear that I miss something in my configure settings:
(in Ubuntu 12.04.1)
And how do I make a package?
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... tect.patch
Victor, could you (or someone else) tell me how do I compile this and make a package for UBCD and Parted Magic?
I fear that I miss something in my configure settings:
(in Ubuntu 12.04.1)
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install intltool libgtk2.0-dev
cd xfprot-folder
./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-sudo
make
make DESTDIR=/home/explorer/pkg install-strip
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Look at partedmagic's website. It's a txz archive.Explorer09 wrote:And how do I make a package?
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
I'll make the question more clearly:
What files do I need to be in the xfprot txz archive, and why?
For example, I found that the original xfprot-2.4.txz in UBCD does not have the locale data, but when I tried to "make install" xfprot by myself, I found the locales are installed somewhere in my /usr/share/locale. I wonder why they are not included in the package.
What files do I need to be in the xfprot txz archive, and why?
For example, I found that the original xfprot-2.4.txz in UBCD does not have the locale data, but when I tried to "make install" xfprot by myself, I found the locales are installed somewhere in my /usr/share/locale. I wonder why they are not included in the package.
-
- Posts: 1368
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
I think the txz archive is extracted to '/' during startup. So you can put anything there to get the app to work.What files do I need to be in the xfprot txz archive, and why?
Not sure. IceCube was responsible for the original package. Maybe he wanted to cut down the size. Maybe he didn't think supporting other locales is important.For example, I found that the original xfprot-2.4.txz in UBCD does not have the locale data, but when I tried to "make install" xfprot by myself, I found the locales are installed somewhere in my /usr/share/locale. I wonder why they are not included in the package.
I suggest you put everything that xfprot requires in the package (including the locales). We can always remove them later if necessary.
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Ok, here it is:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4-full.txz
And the (modified) source code:
git clone https://github.com/Explorer09/xfprot-ubcd.git
There are config files (/root/.xfprot/xfprot.config) in the package. These files were not created during 'make install', so I copied them from the original, Icecube's xfprot package.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4-full.txz
And the (modified) source code:
git clone https://github.com/Explorer09/xfprot-ubcd.git
Code: Select all
cd /home/explorer/pkg
cp [the original xfprot archive]/root ./root
find |sort | sed -e '2,$ s/\.\///g' -e '1 s/^\.$/\.\//' > ../xfprot-2.4-full.list
tar -c -v --xz --no-recursion --files-from ../xfprot-2.4-full.list -f ../xfprot-2.4-full.txz
-
- Posts: 1368
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Tested and works!! Thank you, thank you, thank YOU!
I had to make a small change to /usr/bin/fpscan in the fprot-x-y-z.txz package. Previously it is a symlink to /opt/f-prot/fpscan. But with the new version of fprot, running the symlink will result in a virus def not found error.
By changing the symlink to a executable file that has this one line:
I was able to make everything in xfprot run, including scanning within archives, virus list, list scanned files etc.
Would you like to postfix the version number in the About Box so that:
1) We know it is your work/patch
2) To uniquely identify the patch in case you put out additional patches in the future?
I had to make a small change to /usr/bin/fpscan in the fprot-x-y-z.txz package. Previously it is a symlink to /opt/f-prot/fpscan. But with the new version of fprot, running the symlink will result in a virus def not found error.
By changing the symlink to a executable file that has this one line:
Code: Select all
/opt/f-prot/fpscan $*
Would you like to postfix the version number in the About Box so that:
1) We know it is your work/patch
2) To uniquely identify the patch in case you put out additional patches in the future?
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
All done.
Package (for Parted Magic and UBCD):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4expl3.txz
The source code: (the GPL requires me to distribute the source code with the program)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... l3-src.txz
Here are what I've done with this version:
Package (for Parted Magic and UBCD):
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4expl3.txz
The source code: (the GPL requires me to distribute the source code with the program)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... l3-src.txz
Here are what I've done with this version:
- The locales now work in Parted Magic. Previously IceCube didn't include the locales in the package, now I do.
- Removed the label "allow-none" on the toolbar buttons. (2.4 regression)
- I removes two directories from the package because they have no use in Parted Magic:
Code: Select all
usr/share/apps (There were plugins for Dolphin and Konqueror inside. Parted Magic do not have any of these.) usr/share/man (Parted Magic do not have the man pages. Manuals are downloaded from the Internet.)
Last edited by Explorer09 on Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 1368
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Got it. Thanks!
I will release an "5.2a1" version soon for you guys to play with.
I will release an "5.2a1" version soon for you guys to play with.

-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
I just fixed a few minor bug, and added a Chinese (Taiwan) translation (by me).
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4expl3.txz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... l3-src.txz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4expl3.txz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... l3-src.txz
-
- Posts: 1368
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Pardon my ignorance. Under Parted Magic, how do you toggle the locale to eg. view your Chinese translation in xfprof?
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Under the Parted Magic boot menu, if you didn't choose the "Default settings (Runs from RAM)", you can see there's a "Language" option. Select it, and then choose the language such as "Chinese (TW)".
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
I think there is still one more problem in the current version of xfprot:
Using the "virus list" command in xfprot can slow down the computer (or appear to freeze), because the virus list can be VERY VERY long.
The --virlist switch in fpscan can output up to 1,899,180+ lines, and if I redirect the stdout to a text file, it will be a 32.2 MB large file.
Using the "virus list" command in xfprot can slow down the computer (or appear to freeze), because the virus list can be VERY VERY long.
The --virlist switch in fpscan can output up to 1,899,180+ lines, and if I redirect the stdout to a text file, it will be a 32.2 MB large file.
-
- Posts: 1368
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
There is a moving status bar at the bottom of the window while it is parsing the virus list. Took less than a minute to appear on my VMWare virtual machine.Using the "virus list" command in xfprot can slow down the computer (or appear to freeze), because the virus list can be VERY VERY long.
The --virlist switch in fpscan can output up to 1,899,180+ lines, and if I redirect the stdout to a text file, it will be a 32.2 MB large file.
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:23 pm
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Since F-Prot 6.2.3 is released and so is Parted Magic 2013_01_29, I think it's time to release a minor revision to this XFPROT thing.
So here it is:
F-Prot 6.2.3 package for Parted Magic
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/fprot-6.2.3.txz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4expl4.txz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... l4-src.txz (or 'git clone https://github.com/Explorer09/xfprot-ubcd.git' to get the whole repo of mine.)
Changes:
So here it is:
F-Prot 6.2.3 package for Parted Magic
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/fprot-6.2.3.txz
- Official release notes can be found here. Note that the wrapper script option is now default, so I use that 'official' script for /usr/bin/fpscan :
instead of the 'one liner' by Victor Chew in the above post.
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash FPSCAN="/opt/f-prot/fpscan" $FPSCAN "$@"
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... 4expl4.txz
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/70170658/ubcd/x ... l4-src.txz (or 'git clone https://github.com/Explorer09/xfprot-ubcd.git' to get the whole repo of mine.)
Changes:
- Minor changes to these translation files: es pl pt-BR zh-TW.
- The Spanish locale is now included in the build. This is for Parted Magic 2013_01_29 which now supports it.
Last edited by Explorer09 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 1368
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:59 pm
- Contact:
Re: XFPROT "cannot detect version" bug
Got it. Thanks!